“Just One Wish” by Janette Rallison

30 Apr


“Just One Wish”
Author: Janette Rallison
Pages [hardcover]:  264
Available in stores now
Opening Lines: I would have expected to see this sort of line if, say, Elvis had returned from the dead to give a concert. Or if some eccentric yet ultra-cool billionaire was blessing the lives of deserving teens by handing out free sports cars.
Memorable Quote: Perhaps I wasn’t going crazy after all. Perhaps I was just becoming a writer.
Favorite Character: Steve
Annika Truman would do anything for her little brother, Jeremy. He was diagnosed with cancer, and is having a surgery to remove a tumor from his brain. To keep him calm and positive, she convinces him that she knows a genie that will give him two wishes-she used up the first one herself. Jeremy asks to be visited by the super famous-and super hot-Teen Robin Hood. Now Annika has to convince the actor to come to her house and visit her little brother before the surgery. Will she find this celebrity? Or will she lose her brother’s trust?

This book was very fast paced and easy to read. I read it in only two days. I’ve read a few books by Janette Rallison before but this is by far my favorite! I was in love with the idea from the beginning-it seemed like such a cute, fun story. It starts right in with the action and the problem, leaving no time for unnecessary fluff.
Jeremy seems like such a cute little brother and I’m sad for what he has to go through in the story, but it makes the plot deeper and more purposeful.
Annika [don't you just love the name?] is a strong leading lady who knows what she wants and will stop at nothing to get it. She’s good as reading people’s emotions, and her creativity levels are sky high. I was laughing just trying to figure out what she’d come up with next.
Steve wasn’t your normal celebrity that you usually encounter in novels. His interactions with Annika were original enough so that I didn’t feel as if I’d read it before.
The ending-I love the ending. Not that I want to give it away.
This book is definitely one of the best I’ve read lately. Short, sweet, and just fun to read. I give it 5/5 stars all the way.

One Response to ““Just One Wish” by Janette Rallison”

  1. alison December 11, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    i love janette rallison but i can not find her birthday. yes i loved the book just 1 wish so sweet

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 495 other followers

