“The Catcher in the Rye” by J.D. Salinger

13 May

 
“The Catcher in the Rye”
Author: J.D. Salinger
Pages [paperback]: 277
Available now
Opening Lines: If you really want to hear about it, the first thing you’ll probably want to know is where I was born, and what my lousy childhood was like, and how my parents were occupied and all before they had me, and all that David Copperfield kind of crap, but I don’t feel like going into it, if you want to know the truth.
Memorable Quote: What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though.
Favorite Character: Holden or Phoebe
Holden Caulfield is kicked out of Pencey Prep-the fifth school he’s been expelled from. Afraid of facing his parents’ disappointment, he sets out on his own for a few days, visiting old friends and having an eccentric adventure.
—-
No, I did not read this of my own free will. My school forced me to, but it was pretty good. Holden is a bolder, more forceful, and more aggressive character than most classic books feature. Of course, it was easy to see why this book is among those most often banned from schools. Holden is not the ideal rolemodel, filling the novel with underage drinking, cigarette smoking, and fights with other guys, among other things.
So, having a unique protaganist is a definite plus. His interactions with the other characters were interesting. His little sister, Phoebe, seemed so cute and innocent. I loved how Holden was so protective of her, and other children. It was like that was his one vulnerable point, that let’s the reader see through his thick outer shell.
The book was just lacking something for me. It was nothing special.
“The Catcher in the Rye” gets 2/5 stars.

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

