Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon

5 Mar

Infinity

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Pages [hardcover]: 448

The 1st Chronicles of Nick book!

Opening Lines: Free will. Some have called it the greatest gift bestowed on humanity. It is our ability to control what happens to us and exactly how it happens. We are the masters of our fate and no one can foist their will on us unless we allow it.

Memorable Quote: I learned a long time ago not to judge people by what they look like, sound like, or by the clothes they wear. Just because a house is nice and shiny out front doesn’t mean it’s not rotting on the inside.

Favorite Characters: Nick & Bubba

First Thoughts: I’ve read a few reviews on Infinity and thought it seemed like something I’ll like, though I don’t really know much about it. But I definitely like the cover, and cover art is a big thing for me. :D

Summary:

At fourteen, Nick Gautier thinks he knows everything about the world around him. Streetwise, tough and savvy, his quick sarcasm is the stuff of legends. . .until the night when his best friends try to kill him. Saved by a mysterious warrior who has more fighting skills than Chuck Norris, Nick is sucked into the realm of the Dark-Hunters: immortal vampire slayers who risk everything to save humanity.

Nick quickly learns that the human world is only a veil for a much larger and more dangerous one: a world where the captain of the football team is a werewolf and the girl he has a crush on goes out at night to stake the undead.

But before he can even learn the rules of this new world, his fellow students are turning into flesh eating zombies. And he’s next on the menu.

As if starting high school isn’t hard enough. . .now Nick has to hide his new friends from his mom, his chainsaw from the principal, and keep the zombies and the demon Simi from eating his brains, all without getting grounded or suspended. How in the world is he supposed to do that?

Review:

Wow. This book was like a wild ride. Someone hijacked my mind and kept my thoughts weaving  . . . I didn’t know where the plot was taking me or how it was going to get there.

I was very confused during the majority of this book. That definitely detracted from my enjoyment. There were SO many characters to keep track of, and more than once one was introduced in the beginning and never again mentioned until near the end, so I actually had to flip back to remember who it was. They all had their own purposes, for the most part, so thankfully they weren’t just thrown in for no reason. But I can’t feel for a character when I have no idea who they are. In several dangerous situations-this book was packed full of them-I wasn’t exactly fearing for their lives. More like an impartial observer.

Except for Nick. I love Nick and his little snarky witticisms. His backtalking definitely won me over. The little pieces of humour definitely brought the book to life.

 I liked this book, and think I’ll keep reading this series. I give Infinity 4/5 stars.

3 Responses to “Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Book Trailer & Excerpt for ‘Invincible’ by Sherrilyn Kenyon! « Caught Between the Pages - March 21, 2011

    [...] really enjoyed the first Chronicles of Nick book, Infinity, and I’m excited to read the second book, Invincible, which will be released [...]

    Like

  2. March 2011 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - April 1, 2011

    [...] Tori Redding-Jason Ancona Infinity[Chronicles of Nick #1]-Sherrilyn Kenyon Water for Elephants-Sara Gruen Hunger [Horsemen of the Apocalypse #1]-Jackie Morse Kessler The [...]

    Like

  3. Invincible by Sherrilyn Kenyon « Caught Between the Pages - April 12, 2011

    [...] Chronicles of Nick #2 Book 1: Infinity [...]

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers

