You Wish by Mandy Hubbard

20 Mar

You Wish

Author: Mandy Hubbard [also wrote Prada and Prejudice]

Pages [paperback]: 272

Favorite Characters:
Kayl, Ann, & Ben

Available now!

Summary:

Kayla McHenry’s sweet sixteen sucks! Her dad left, her grades dropped, and her BFF is dating the boy Kayla’s secretly loved for years. Blowing out her candles, Kayla thinks: I wish my birthday wishes actually came true. Because they never freakin’ do.

Kayla wakes the next day to a life-sized, bright pink My Little Pony outside her window. Then a year’s supply of gumballs arrives. A boy named Ken with a disturbing resemblance to the doll of the same name stalks her. As the ghosts of Kayla’s wishes-past appear, they take her on a wild ride . . . but they MUST STOP. Because when she was fifteen? She wished Ben Mackenzie would kiss her. And Ben is her best friend’s boyfriend.

Review:

I’ve been looking forward to reading You Wish for a while-and not only because the main character has an awesome name. ;) The idea of getting everything you ever wished for seemed so interesting, and hilarious! This book had me guessing what the next wish might be while rolling on the floor laughing about the current wish.

Iorginally thought this novel would be a cute, fun little story that I’d read, enjoy, and promptly forget about. It was a lot more than that! It was so creative and unique, plus the overall message was wonderful. The characters were well defined and seemed to jump off the page-especially the non-human ones!

It was fun seeing what Kayla wished for at different stages of her life, and then figuring out why she would have wanted that wish at that exact moment. Some of the wishes were more of a nuisance to her than anything, like the unlimited supply of gumballs. Others were ridiculously funny, like having a life-size Ken stalking her every move.

I definitely recommend this book if you’re looking for a funny, quick read. There’s definitely more substance to it than I first thought, but it was still light-hearted. Sort of like Prada and Prejudice, also written by Mandy Hubbard. I suppose I should stop underestimating this author’s work, and I’ll definitely keep my eye out for more by her.

I give You Wish 5/5 stars. It was amazing, and definitely memorable!

5 Responses to “You Wish by Mandy Hubbard”

  1. jenny March 20, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    like this is like one of the best books I ever read considering I am really nuch of a reader and kind of have to make myself sit down and it waz so hilarous u would of never thought tbat kayla would wish for any of these things that wht really made me wanted to keep on reading this is the first time I ever gt one of ur books but u can count on me gettin another one of ur books very soon

    Like

  2. Biaggully July 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    как похудеть за месяц на 10 килограммбромная диетадиета по дням неделипохудеть в верхней части телановейшие препараты для снижения весадиета после желтухианастасия волочкова диетадиетические салаты из марковимоно диета с рисомдиета джонса хопкинсапохудей плюс стройная фигурадиета для уменьшения мышечной массыовсянка для похудения здоровья молодости и красотыкак похудеть очаровательной лентяйкекниги по диетам кулинарии юлии высоцкойдиета при мкб у людейпрограммы по снижению веса в санаторияхкак льняное масло влияет на похудениетолкалина как похуделадиеты правильное питание здоровое

    Like

  3. Jewel January 8, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    I’ve read Ripple, by Mandy Hubbard, and it was absolutely amazing!! I wanted to look for more books by her, and I found one! I’m looking forward to picking up You Wish at the library later today!

    Like

    • Kayla January 12, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

      I’ve been wanting to read more by her, and now that’ll definitely be at the top of my list! I’m so glad you’ll check this one out! :D

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. March 2011 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - April 1, 2011

    [...] Dead to Me [Simon Canderous #1]-Anton Strout I Am Number Four [Lorien Legacies #1]-Pittacus Lore You Wish-Mandy Hubbard Paranormalcy [Paranormalcy #1]-Kiersten White A Kiss in Time-Alex Flinn The Replacement [The [...]

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers

