You by Charles Benoit

7 Apr

You

Author: Charles Benoit

Pages [hardcover]: 223

Memorable Quote: “There’s always a but. It’s a magical word. You can say anything you want, go on for as long as you want, and then all you have to do is add the magic word and instantly everything you said is erased, turned meaningless, just like that.”

First Thoughts: You has such an original concept-I’ve never read a book written in 2nd person before. That alone has me interested, and hopefully there’s a gripping plot to go along with it.

Favorite Characters: Kyle & Paige

Summary:

This wasn’t the way it was supposed to go.

You’re just a typical fifteen-year-old sophomore, an average guy named Kyle Chase. This can’t be happening to you. But then, how do you explain all the blood? How do you explain how you got here in the first place?

There had to have been signs, had to have been some clues it was coming. Did you miss them, or ignore them? Maybe if you can figure out where it all went wrong, you can still make it right. Or is it already too late? Think fast, Kyle. Time’s running out. How did this happen?

You is the riveting story of fifteen-year-old Kyle and the small choices he does and doesn’t make that lead to his own destruction.

Review:

This. Book. Is. Fantastic.

I don’t think that’s a big enough adjective to describe how I feel about You. First of all, I love that it’s written in second person. As stated above, I’ve never read a book in this point of view before, and it was a fabulous experience. The reader views every other character through Kyle’s-your-eyes, sees events the way Kyle and you want to see them, and you mix up your life one decision at a time.

Kyle is in no way perfect, and his character is definitely exaggerated a bit. But as a teenager, I do think that there are many like him out there: Those that feel they have to go along with whatever image people give them, those that are bored by useless information in school, those that are afraid to ask a girl out even when they’ve been talking to her for months. He’s as realistic as you and me. And like us, he doesn’t realize his mistakes until it’s too late to change anything.

The writing in this novel was very simple, but held with elegance, and I flew through the pages, finishing this in about a day. When I read the last lines, I went back and read the last segment again-You isn’t seperated into chapters-and was left with the same impact. This ending and I have a love/hate relationship. It is perfect for the book, and for that I adore it. But I also want, in exactly defining terms, to know what was going to happen. I suppose I’ll have to decide for myself.

You is a wonderful book full of teenage anger-management issues, peer pressure, manipulative friends, hard choices, and the consequences of those decisions. I think that everyone should give it a chance; I wished I owned this book, because I’d read it over and over again. I think everyone that reads You will take something different away from it, which adds to the appeal. I give this book 5/5 stars.

2 Responses to “You by Charles Benoit”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. April 2011 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - May 6, 2011

    [...] Scorch Trials-James Dashner Tyger Tyger-Kersten Hamilton You-Charles Benoit Two Moon Princess-Carmen Fereiro-Esteban Invincible-Sherrilyn Kenyon Along for the Ride-Sarah [...]

    Like

  2. Best of 2011! « Caught Between the Pages - January 9, 2012

    [...] You by Charles Benoit. Definitely one of the most heart-wrenching, tear-jerking books I read all year. And because it’s written in second person, all the more powerful. [...]

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

