Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George

27 Apr

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

Author: Jessica Day George

Pages [hardcover]: 336

Opening Lines: Long ago and far away in the land of ice and snow, there came a time when it seemed that winter would never end. The months when summer should have given the land respite were cold and damp, and the winter months were snow filled and colder still.

Favorite Characters: Rollo & Hans Peter

Summary:

Blessed—or cursed—with an ability to understand animals, the Lass (as she’s known to her family) has always been an oddball. And when an isbjorn (polar bear) seeks her out, and promises that her family will become rich if only the Lass will accompany him to his castle, she doesn’t hesitate. But the bear is not what he seems, nor is his castle, which is made of ice and inhabited by a silent staff of servents. Only a grueling journey on the backs of the four winds will reveal the truth: the bear is really a prince who’s been enchanted by a troll queen, and the Lass must come up with a way to free him before he’s forced to marry a troll princess.

Review:

I. Loved. This. Book.

I picked it  up at the library because nothing else caught my eye and I’ve read another book by Jessica Day George, Princess of the Midnight Ball. I enjoyed that, so I figured this would be okay enough to tide me over for a while.

I started it yesterday, and could not put it down until it was finished. I loved how it was told with echoes of old fairy tales with a breath of modern tones intertwined. It worked wonderfully for me, and I couldn’t get enough of it! Starting it, I thought I’d be annoyed that the narrator doesn’t have a name-she’s referred to only as ‘the lass’ or ‘pika’-but that only helped the story in the long run.

I could see parts of stories I remember reading long ago retold in this novel, and I liked seeing them through a new light, and with this brave heroine leading the way. One aspect of the book I really enjoyed was that it wasn’t a princess needing to be rescued here, but a prince. She could have easily left him to his fate and returned to her family.

This book surprised me in the best way. The twists and turns it took fit together and kept me on the edge of my seat. I’ll definitely have to read more by this author. This is a book I’ll be thinking about for a long time! I give Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 5/5 stars.

3 Responses to “Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George”

  1. LAnon June 10, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Remarkably similar to “East” by Edith Pattou. They have their differences but some things feel almost the same. Haven’t read the original fairy tale so may be the similarities come from that tale.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. April 2011 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - May 6, 2011

    [...] Along for the Ride-Sarah Dessen Happy Birthday to Me-Brian Rowe Midnight Pearls-Debbie Viguie Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow-Jessica Day George Impossible-Nancy [...]

  2. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | Caught Between the Pages - June 12, 2013

    […] If you loved this, you might also like Tyger Tyger or Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 435 other followers

