Delirium by Lauren Oliver

8 Jul

Delirium

Author: Lauren Oliver [also wrote Before I Fall]

Pages [hardcover]: 441

Opening Lines: It has been sixty-four years since the president and the Consortium identified love as a disease, and forty-three since the scientists perfected a cure. Everyone else in my family has had the procedure already.

Memorable Quote:
“I love you. Remember. They cannot take it.”

Favorite Characters: Alex & Gracie

Summary:

Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

Review:

This book took my heart, pulled it out, and ripped it to shreds. And I loved every minute of it. I don’t know why, but dystopians of this kind-where something as humanly significant as love is eradicated and basically every freedom is stripped away-are creepier than ones filled with invasions or epidemics or the like. Because this is the sort of thing we do to ourselves, not something we have no control over, or fight together as one. The people in Delirium allow this to happen to them, and don’t seem to see anything wrong with it.

Besides being majorly freaked out by the premise of the book, I was immediately intrigued. Of course it was predictable in the way most books are. Just reading the summary made it easy for me to see how some things were going to go. But it didn’t tell me every twist and turn, how the book would keep me hooked and reading late into the night. I became fully immersed in Lena’s world (and, by the way, I love her name) and learned gradually every terrible detail of it. And when she did the most horrible thing, ‘getting the disease’, I was right there with her.

Picturing every moment perfectly was not a problem. Everything was described in great detail, including the settling, the characters, and the society. I became terrified of the regulators, detested Carol, and adored Gracie. I could relate to Hana and Lena’s friendship problems, as well as their hopes and fears for the future.

There were so many unexpected moment in Delirium, they quickly made up for the parts I’d already filled in myself. And the ending . . . That has to be one of the best endings I’ve read in a while. I had to read it over several times, just to let it really sink it. Definitely the greatest part of a fantastic novel. It’s going to kill me, waiting for the sequel to be released. Because I love this book so much, I give it 5/5 stars.

6 Responses to “Delirium by Lauren Oliver”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. July 2011 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - August 13, 2011

    [...] Moriarty Shine-Lauren Myracle Storm Thief-Chris Wooding Song of the Sparrow-Lisa Ann Sandell Delirium-Lauren Oliver Peter Pan-J.M. Barrie Fractured: Happily Never After?-Joanna Karaplis Past Midnight-Purnhagen A [...]

    Like

  2. Book Review – Delirium by Lauren Oliver « Day in the life of a Busy Gal… - August 29, 2011

    [...] Delirium by Lauren Oliver (caughtbetweenthepages.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

  3. Best of 2011! « Caught Between the Pages - January 9, 2012

    [...] Delirium by Lauren Oliver is such a great start to a series, and it might be my overall favorite read for [...]

    Like

  4. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver « Caught Between the Pages - April 11, 2012

    [...] Delirium #2 Book 1: Delirium [...]

    Like

  5. Requiem by Lauren Oliver | Caught Between the Pages - December 8, 2013

    […] #3 Book 1: Delirium Book 2: […]

    Like

  6. Delirium Stories by Lauren Oliver | Caught Between the Pages - June 12, 2014

    […] #0.5, 1.5, 2.5 Book 1: Delirium Book 2: Pandemonium Book 3: […]

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

