Best of 2011!

8 Jan

This year was AMAZING. Of course, not only because of the books, of course. Can’t forget my friends and family, all of the other things I love doing-like playing tennis or making someone smile-and all of the random pieces that fit together to make it awesome.

And, yeah, there was a bit of time for reading, too. These are my definite favorites of 2011, with all of their pretty covers, because who doesn’t like pictures? They’re in no particular order, or category, because I didn’t want to limit myself to choosing one from each genre, or something like that. I just want to be able to share books I love!

 
Delirium by Lauren Oliver is such a great start to a series, and it might be my overall favorite read for the entire year! Great dystopian, controlling setting, great romance. And the best plot twists around.

You by Charles Benoit. Definitely one of the most heart-wrenching, tear-jerking books I read all year. And because it’s written in second person, all the more powerful.

Atonement by Ian McEwan. What? I picked a book I read in school as one of my favorites? That has to be some kind of blasphemy. But I can’t put down an ending like that, which turned me head over heels and really made me think about the book. And life. And people. And lies. If a book can make you feel like I did when I finished this-incredibly smart and sad and wanting to read more and knowing you weren’t going to get any-it’s definitely fantastic.

           

I read so many books that were the finales of series and trilogies I’ve been following for ages. The last, Scorpia Rising, is an end to the Alex Rider series, which I’ve been reading for . . . five years now? At least. And I couldn’t have been happier at the farewell I got. Same goes to Everfound, the last book of the Skinjacker trilogy. (And, if I had to pick a favorite of the four, this would be it. Neal Shusterman is a genius.) Goliath, which makes me want to read more steampunk. And Scott Westerfeld. Now. And Monsters of Men, which was AMAZING. OH MY GOODNESS. 

If I had to pick the best YA historical fiction book of the year, it’d be Song of the Sparrow. Not only does it make me want to get started on reading more like this, it’s lyrical prose and wonderful characters make me want to read it again and again. And again.

  

I’ve loved Peter Pan ever since I first saw the Disney movie. And I wanted to read the book before I re-watched the 2003 version with Jeremy Sumpter (<3) and fell in love with that as well. I was reluctant to start a series that ‘comes before’ this book that I would marry if I could, but, seriously. Peter and the Starcatchers? Couldn’t ask for more. All the little witty references to the original, and a plot that can do more than stand on its own? Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson . . . I worship you.

ashlgrowwerpieropqpowri
This book was everything I wanted, and more. ‘Nuff said. Get me the sequel now!

I love this book so, so much! What makes it weird is that had it not been for chance, I’d probably have never read it . . . I won a contest, and the publisher took longer than usual to mail the book I’d been waiting for out, so they included Real Mermaids Don’t Wear Toe Rings as an apology! Thank you, fate.

 

I loved this book so much! It reminds me of something I read a long, long time ago, and I absolutely adored the mythology mixed in. Addictive, great, fun!

 

Can’t forget Percy! Well, technically not Percy, as this is a spin-off of the series, and he’s MIA. The Son of Neptune, the sequel to this, is also in my top books of the year! Yet another great series by Rick Riordan! Yay!

-

And that’s all! I hope all of you had a fantastic 2011, and have an even better 2012!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

