City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

18 Jul

City of Bones

author : cassandra clare

pages : [paperback] 485

memorable quote : “Declarations of love amuse me. Especially when unrequited.”

favorite characters : simon & isabella

summary :

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing — not even a smear of blood — to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . . .

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

review :

I read a few books of this series an awfully long time ago and figured it was about time for a reread, particularly with all of the movie buzz going on. While I’m not sure I liked it as much this time around, it was still an enjoyable novel.

It really lagged in the middle for me. The beginning was quick because I liked the world building and learning about the characters. They soon became like cookie cutter images that were too predictable and too flawless. Even when bad things happened it never seemed to be one person’s fault or because of a certain bad trait. I know that Jace was supposed to be the love interest but he seemed too antagonistic in a forced way for me to really like him. (Of course, I remember that my opinions about him changed as I read the series, but this is just my impression from City of Bones).

The middle . . .  It seemed like nothing was happening. Except they would tell Clary not to do something, she’d do it anyway, and chaos would come about. The end really gripped me and made me want to pick up the second book immediately; it recaptured my interest and reminded me of why I found this series so captivating. I really think that although this isn’t the perfect series for me, it’s still a good read and I know that countless amounts of people will really like it. Particularly because they’re going to make a movie out of it and get it more exposure.

City of Bones is a book that I really fought to love. It took me a long time to get through; in the middle I set it aside and had no inclination to snatch it back up again. But by persevering and allowing it to capture my interest, I realized that this is still a very good read.

3.5/5 stars

7 Responses to “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare”

  1. Brittany July 18, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    I actually really agree with that! It’s a book that I really WANTED to like but I felt like it lagged a bit, some of it was too convenient, some of it was too obvious. That being said, I still had a lot of fun with it! I’m more interested to see how the second book goes now that I’m acquainted with the background all set up and we have the main ideas.

    Like

    • Kayla July 28, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

      Yes! That’s exactly how I felt! Thank you for understanding. ^.^ I’m hoping that the second book will be much more interesting! I want to be taken with the story and less frustrated with it.

      Like

      • Brittany July 28, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

        Totally! I’m hoping the second book will flow much better now that I’ve got the world established and we can get to know the characters better!

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. July 2012 Wrap-Up!!! « Caught Between the Pages - August 2, 2012

    [...] City of Bones [...]

    Like

  2. City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare | Caught Between the Pages - December 11, 2012

    [...] The Mortal Instruments #2 Book 1: City of Bones [...]

    Like

  3. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare | Caught Between the Pages - November 25, 2013

    […] you like this, you might also like City of Bones or Tyger, […]

    Like

  4. Books to Movies: City of Bones | Caught Between the Pages - February 14, 2014

    […] City of Bones isn’t one of my favorite books but I think it’s a very interesting series with so many interesting aspects that could easily be made into a big cinematic experience. Clary and Jace are good characters and their relationship is definitely a complicated one. Of course, I was really interested in seeing what they’d do about that cliffhanger ending that could possibly turn away audiences if a second movie was ever in the works. Now that I’ve seen the first movie, I’m not so sure I want to see City of Ashes made in this same way. […]

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

