The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

5 Aug

The Night Circus

author : erin morgenstern

pages : [hardcover] 387

memorable quote : The finest of pleasures are always the unexpected ones.

favorite characters : poppet, bailey, marco, & friedrick

summary :

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

Written in rich, seductive prose, this spell-casting novel is a feast for the senses and the heart.

review :

I’ve heard so many good things about this book but I took a while to pick it up because I wasn’t sure if I would like it. It isn’t like anything I’ve ever read before and I think that’s why I ended up enjoying The Night Circus so much. From the characters to the plot to the fantastical setting, everything was bigger and better than what my imagination brought me from the book’s summary. Now I regret all of the time I spent debating on whether or not it’d be as amazing as I wanted it to be. This novel was all of that and more.

The characters are probably what made this book what it is for me. If I could, I’d have listed all of them as favorites, from the horrible ones, to the bizarre ones, to those that appeared only sporadically. They were all amazing, and odd, and captured my attention and imagination.

The beautiful descriptions in this book helped me to really put myself in the circus and try to see what it might look like if it existed. By the time the book was over, I wanted it to be real so badly, even with all of the bad that came with it. I wanted to be able to walk through the tents and smell popcorn and caramel in the air. I wanted to see things that just weren’t possible displayed right before my eyes.

This is a book that’ll stay with me for a long, long time. I loved the ending, but I also loved the middle and beginning. I wanted to find out so much more about the challenge and because the chapters switch between the different characters and what they’re currently doing hat might be relevent to the circus or challenge, so much more was shown than if one character had been focused on. I liked having the overall view of things.

I really, really recommend this book. Go out and buy it and make sure you have plenty of time to devote to reading it, because you won’t want to put it down.

5/5 stars

4 Responses to “The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern”

  1. Tahlia Newland August 5, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    I read this one too and I agree with you about the descriptions, the imagery was beautiful. It had a haunting quality that I really liked to0. It was also different to everything else which I also like.

    Like

    • Kayla August 5, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      Yes! It was so original and while it was creepy at times, it was more . . disturbingly beautiful than anything else. And I love it. :D

      Like

  2. mywordlyobsessions October 15, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    This was also a book that surprised me, I didn’t realise I would enjoy it so much! Like you I put this in the YA category, but a commentor posted in my review that Morgenstern herself stated it shouldn’t be classed as a YA novel as it isn’t one. Interesting eh? Begs the question whether the author, or the masses that read her book are the ones who are right.

    Great review!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. August 2012 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - September 8, 2012

    [...] The Night Circus [...]

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

