This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen

8 Aug

This Lullaby

author : Sarah Dessen [also wrote: That Summer, Along for the Ride, Lock and Key,
What Happened to Goodbye and The Truth About Forever]

pages : [paperback] 345

memorable quote :

“Wherever you will go,
I will let you down,
But this lullaby goes on.”

favorite characters : dexter & remy

summary :

When it comes to relationships, Remy doesn’t mess around. After all, she’s learned all there is to know from her mother, who’s currently working on husband number five. But there’s something about Dexter that seems to defy all of Remy’s rules. He certainly doesn’t seem like Mr. Right. For some reason, however, Remy just can’t seem to shake him. Could it be that Remy’s starting to understand what those love songs are all about?

review :

I love Sarah Dessen and her books! This is a reread for me, but I’d completely forgotten everything about the plot and characters apart from what I saw on the back of the book. That’s what I like about these novels; I can return to them time and time again with a fresh outlook, the newest version of me, and still take something great away from it.

Above all else, I love the characters. Remy doesn’t think that love exists, she’s convinced most of her friends of this, and when she might start changing, she stops that right in its tracks. Dexter is just as stubbornly set in his personality, two parts goofy, two parts sweet, all parts clumsy. For the most part they’re complete opposites and I love seeing characters like that clashing in books like this.

While there was nothing spectacularly original about the setting, I’m still loving the fact that all of Sarah Dessen’s books intertwine. I like looking for the little similarities and seeing what might be the same as something in another book or what background character might play the starring role in another book. It’s like a young adult scavenger hunt.

While I don’t think that This Lullaby is my favorite Sarah Dessen novel, it’s still one of the top ones and I love it so, so much. I think now it’s a given for me to read at least one of her books during the summer. Although it does have the typical romance that usually fills such books, it also has a more serious note, isn’t such a lighthearted story, and bears a great message within its pages.

5/5 stars

3 Responses to “This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen”

  1. Sarah November 23, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    This Lullaby was my favorite book all through high school and most of middle school. I could really relate to Remy at that time in my life and re-read it multiple times. Sarah Dessen is also one of my favorite authors! I love her so much! I have to say though that her most recent book Along for the Ride was my least favorite and the one she is currently working on sounds sort of similar :(

    Like

    • Kayla November 27, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      I love this book so much! Along for the Ride was an okay read, but I’m hoping for something new and interesting in the next book. I know that no matter what the premise I’ll end up getting it! :D

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. August 2012 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - September 8, 2012

    [...] This Lullaby [...]

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers

