Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

17 Aug

Life as We Knew It

The Last Survivors #1

author : susan beth pfeffer

pages : [hardcover] 337

memorable quote : I wonder if I’ll ever have to decide which is worse, life as we’re living or no life at all.

favorite characters : matt & jonathan

summary :

Miranda’s disbelief turns to fear in a split second when a meteor knocks the moon closer to the earth. How should her family prepare for the future when worldwide tsunamis wipe out the coasts, earthquakes rock the continents, and volcanic ash blocks out the sun? As summer turns to Arctic winter, Miranda, her two brothers, and their mother retreat to the unexpected safe haven of their sunroom, where they subsist on stockpiled food and limited water in the warmth of a wood-burning stove.

Told in journal entries, this is the heart-pounding story of Miranda’s struggle to hold on to the most important resource of all–hope–in an increasingly desperate and unfamiliar world.

review :

I’ve had this book for a while so this is a reread for me. I think it was one of the first apocalyptic type books I ever picked up and I really loved it. I wanted to see if my feelings about it were the same, as I have both of the companion books now and wanted to start again from the beginning. While I wasn’t pleased with every aspect of Life as We Knew It, I think that it was a good read.

What I really liked about this book was how realistic it was. I felt like I was right there in the household while everything was falling to pieces. They acted like any normal family would during such a situation and it was interesting to see how the relationships between the characters strengthened or waned. I liked how things weren’t breezed over or exaggerated and I even ended up liking how it was written in journal entries. Miranda did annoy me from time to time, maybe just because of how she was writing about herself. Because we  only get to see things from her perspective, it’s aggravating when she meticulously writes down boring details and only adds a line or two about something that might be happening outside of her own bubble.

The scenes I liked the most ended up being when she went into town or tried to visit friends. I liked seeing what was happening with everyone else, though I can understand that there wasn’t much to be done when they were all trapped inside the house with each other.

For fans of more action-packed stories, this one wouldn’t be for you. But if you like more character based, slow world building tales, this might be one you want to pick up.

4/5 stars

4 Responses to “Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer”

  1. gkbookworm August 18, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    This is my favorite book in the world. I’ve had it for so long that the reprints don’t even have the same cover anymore!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. August 2012 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - September 8, 2012

    [...] Life as We Knew It [...]

  2. The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer | Caught Between the Pages - December 21, 2012

    [...] The Last Survivors #2 Book 1 : Life as We Know It [...]

  3. This World We Live In « Caught Between the Pages - January 16, 2013

    [...] Last Survivors #3 Book 1: Life As We Knew It Book 2: The Dead and the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

