My Soul to Lose by Rachel Vincent

5 Sep

My Soul to Lose

Soul Screamers #0.5

Book 1 : My Soul to Take
Book 2: My Soul to Save

author : rachel vincent

pages : [ebook] 87

memorable quote : Em didn’t truly understand about my panic attacks – no one did.  But she’d never pushed me to explain, never tried to ditch me when things got weird, and never once looked at me like I was a freak.

favorite characters : lydia & kaylee

summary :

It was supposed to be a fun day, shopping at the mall with her best friend. Then the panic attack started and Kaylee Cavanaugh finds herself screaming, unable to stop. Her secret fears are exposed and it’s the worst day of her life.

Until she wakes up in the psychiatric unit.

She tries to convince everyone she’s fine–despite the shadows she sees forming around another patient and the urge to scream which comes burbling up again and again. Everyone thinks she’s crazy. Everyone except Lydia, that is. Another patient with some special abilities….

review :

This was the first book that I read in the Soul Screamers series and it really got me excited to read the rest. I don’t think it matters whether or not you begin with the prequel; after all, a few of the books were published before this was even out, I think. But I liked the introduction it gave me to the characters, the relationship I could see between Kaylee and her aunt, uncle, and best friend, Emma. They were all wonderfully portrayed in just a few pages, not quite long enough to be a book on its own and yet much longer than I expected this snippet to be. But I think it was the perfect length.

I didn’t know too much about this before I read it. I only knew that I’d been meaning to get around to it for a while. I think that worked out better for me because I could figure out what Kaylee could do, understand her confusion, and watch with horror as things escalated. Being trapped unjustly in a mental health facility . . It can’t be any fun. It’s horrifying just to think about it.

I really recommend this prequel to both current fans of the series and people who have never tried it before. I really think that it’s worthwhile! It’s a good read with an interesting plot and will have you going for the first book before you know it! I know I did.

5/5 stars

3 Responses to “My Soul to Lose by Rachel Vincent”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent « Caught Between the Pages - September 8, 2012

    [...] Screamers #2 Book #0.5 My Soul to Lose Book #1 My Soul to [...]

    Like

  2. My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent « Caught Between the Pages - September 8, 2012

    [...] Book 0.5: My Soul to Lose Book  2 : My Soul to Save [...]

    Like

  3. September Wrap Up! « Caught Between the Pages - October 15, 2012

    [...] My Soul to Lose [Soul Screamers #0.5]- Rachel Vincent [...]

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers

