My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent

6 Sep

My Soul to Take

Soul Screamers #1

Book 0.5: My Soul to Lose
Book  2 : My Soul to Save

Author : rachel vincent

pages : [paperback] 279

memorable quote : The worst memories stick with us, while the nice ones always seem to slip through our fingers.

favorite characters : emma & kaylee

summary :

She doesn’t see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next.

review :

And I thought the prequel was interesting! This novel really pulls you into Kaylee’s world, making you wonder how you would handle things if you had the uncontrollable urge to shriek every time someone around you was about to die. Thankfully I don’t have much experience with that, but with Kaylee it’s getting more and more common.

While I really liked all of these characters, at first I didn’t understand Nash. He’s a jock, a popular guy, one who’s had a lot of girls. Kaylee knows this. And all of a sudden he takes an interest in her when he’s ignored her all of these years. While most of this is explained later (thankfully! so don’t let it deter you) Kaylee only thinks to question it in passing and then take it as it is. And it’s kind of obvious that he’s keeping something from her . . Wouldn’t she try harder to find out what it is?

I can already tell that I’m going to love this series so, so much! The concept of it is amazing and like nothing I’ve read before. It’s interesting, well thought out, and definitely well written! All around a win for me. I definitely recommend this for all fans of YA books because this takes a topic that could border on something generic and makes it new, fresh, and interesting. I love not knowing what else might be around the corner!

5/5 stars

3 Responses to “My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent « Caught Between the Pages - September 8, 2012

    [...] Soul Screamers #2 Book #0.5 My Soul to Lose Book #1 My Soul to Take [...]

    Like

  2. My Soul to Lose by Rachel Vincent « Caught Between the Pages - September 8, 2012

    [...] Previous Book Three of the Goblin Wars by Kersten Hamilton Cover Reveal! Next My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent [...]

    Like

  3. September Wrap Up! « Caught Between the Pages - October 15, 2012

    [...] My Soul to Take [Soul Screamers #1] – Rachel Vincent [...]

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

