fiction · horror

“Misery” by Stephen King


“Misery”
Author: Stephen King
Pages: [paperback] 338
Available now
Where I Got It: Borrowed from my friend
First Lines: But sometimes the sounds-like the pain-faded, and then there was only the haze. He remembered darkness: solid darkness gad come thriugh the haze. Did that mean he was making progress?
Paul Sheldon is a bestselling author that travelled into the mountains to finish his latest novel. With Fast Cars neatly wrapped up and complete, he celebrates with some champagne and a drive to drop off the manuscript.
His celebration comes to a screeching halt when he slides off the road, car smashing in a horrible accident. Paul’s lucky when a car passing by decides to stop. These mountain roads don’t have much traffic.
Or maybe he’s not so lucky…
Annie Wilkes is apparently his number one fan. And now that Paul is unable to walk, trapped inside her house, Annie wants Paul to write a story just for her. If he refuses, she can be very nasty.
Will he ever escape and make it out of this alive?

I wasn’t really sure if I was going to like this book when I started. My friend told me that it was amazing and that I needed to read it too, so I decided to at least give it a try. Then, surprisingly, once I got into the book I couldn’t put it down! It was creeping me out, but I needed to know what was going to happen next. There were so many twists and turns, I couldn’t predict how anything was going to turn out.
I loved how Annie was so crazy! I was hoping she wouldn’t randomly mellow out at any point, but she stayed perfectly insane through the whole thing. This led to all the aforementioned twists and turns. She would be exploding with anger one moment and then giddy with happiness the next.
I would totally recommend this for anyone who enjoys a good scary story, a thriller, or has read any other Stephen King books. I love how there are references to “The Shining”, another one of his books, in this. I was seriously smiling when I noticed Annie was talking about the Overlook Hotel.
I give this book five out of five stars. Go read it. =]

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

