Uncategorized

“The Crusades” by Thomas Asbridge


“The Crusades”
Author: Thomas Asbridge
Pages: 784
Available now [Just released!]
Where I got it: Won an ARC from a contest on Goodreads [click to find a list of their current contests]
First Lines: Nine hundred yeats ago the Christians of Europe waged a series of holy wars, or crusades, against the Muslim world, battling for dominion of a region sacred to both faiths-the Holy Land.

Thomas Asbridge writes a historical account of the Crusades, a series of holy wars fought between Christians and Muslims over the Holy Land. He attempts to write completely unbiased, switching viewpoints between the two religions. He tells the tale of the horrible string of wars, attempting to explain why they came about, what exactly they involved, and who really won at the end.

——

Okay, truth time: I hate history books with a burning passion. But, I thought, what the heck? It’s free, it’s Goodreads, and they could never steer me wrong, could they? So instead of tossing it aside, giving it away as a gift or forcing it upon my friends, I read it.
Surprisingly, it was sort of interesting. I liked how it switched between perspectives, giving an unbiased account of what really happened. It didn’t exactly place blame on any one side and gave all of the events in detail.
For a person who usually can’t pay attention to a history book, I was intimidated by the size of the book-784 pages! I admit at points I was dying to skip to the end, but I hung in there and I’m glad that I read it.

This book gets three out of five stars. It wasn't great, but it still kept my interest.
I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

