Uncategorized

“What’s in a Word?” by Webb Garrison


“What’s in a Word?”
Author: Webb Garrison
Where I Got It: Free from booksneeze. Get free books in exchange for a review on your blog. [I completely recommend the program]
There are no opening lines, as this book is set up like a dictionary. The words are split into several categories and then are given their separate definitions of how they came about.
Have you ever heard a word and wondered, “Who could ever come up with that?” This book is the answer to your questions. The back stories of well used words are here for all to see.

I started this book with great expectations. I was thinking about all of the words and phrases I hear on a daily basis that I really don’t know where they originated. I was excited to see where these common phrases started and hoped I might be able to impress my friends with a little knowledge. However, I was slightly disappointed. Though there were some interesting words in there, some were such obvious definitions that I was confused as to why they were added. For example, it’s pretty apparent that a computer virus is like a virus that makes a person sick. These simple explinations did nothing whatsoever for me and I feel like he was just adding in things to take up space because he had nothing better to define.
Overall, I think I could have done without it. It never really caught my total interest, and I kept being drawn away from the book by more interesting stories by other authors. I’d give this book 2/5 stars.

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

