Fantasy · fiction · young adult

“The Battle of the Labyrinth” by Rick Riordan


“The Battle of the Labyrinth”
Author: Rick Riordan
Pages: 361
Available in stores now
This is book 4 of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Read the review to book 3 here.
Opening lines: The last thing I wanted to do on my summer break was blow up another school . . .
Memorable Quote: People are more difficult to work with than machines. And when you break a person, he can’t be fixed.
As Percy draws nearer to turning 16, everyone is anxious to find out if he is the half-blood the great prophecy is about. But in order to survive long enough to reach that age, Percy has to keep Luke’s army away from Camp Half-Blood. Luke wants to burn the camp to the ground, destroying the last safe place for all half-bloods. The only way Luke can get into Camp is through the famous Labyrinth. This massive structure that twists and turns under the United States is full of monsters and traps ready to drive any person insane. Will Percy save the camp, or will Luke overrun Camp Half-Blood?

I love the Percy Jackson series. I only recently started reading the books, and it’s obvious that I’m addicted to them. The fourth book was not a disappointment. It was full of action and humor. I loved how Annabeth and Grover once again played large parts in the storyline. I was missing the old trio, but was happy to have Tyson tagging along too. I think I like this book second best, right after the first book, “The Lightning Thief”.
In this book we find a little bit more about Rachel, who was barely introduced to us in the third book, “The Titan’s Curse”. I don’t want to give too much away, but I’m glad that the author didn’t just forget about her and actually explained some things that were a little fuzzy at the end of the third book.
Most of the books end with a BAM, a giant cliff-hanger ending. I was reading some of the reviews they printed on the back of the book and one mentioned a cliff-hanger. This one didn’t really have an epic conclusion. It was too neat and tidy for me. It needed a little oomph. 😉
That’s all I can really complain about-the ending. Other than that, I loved the book. I’m sad to know there’s only one book left for me to read, and I know I’ll miss Percy, but I’m itching to get my hands on that fifth book right now. Ah, well.
“The Battle of the Labyrinth” gets 5/5 stars. Read it-now! But read the other books first. =]

5 thoughts on ““The Battle of the Labyrinth” by Rick Riordan

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

