Fantasy · fiction · young adult

“Beautiful Creatures” by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stone


“Beautiful Creatures:
Authors: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Pages [Hardcover]: 563
Available in stores now
Opening lines: There were only two kinds of people in our town. “The stupid and the stuck,” my father had affectionately classified our neighbors. “The ones who are bound to stay or too dumb to go. Everyone else finds a way out.”
Memorable Quote: “I never loved you any more than I do, right this second. And I’ll never love you any less than I do, right this second.”
Favorite Character: Ethan Wate
Ethan Wate has been living his life counting down the days until he can finally leave his boring town and get away to college. Lena has been counting the days until her sixteen birthday. Both countdowns are important to them, but one is of hope while the other is of dread. When Lena moves to Gatlin, she turns Ethan’s world upside down. The people of the town don’t accept her, but there is something about Lena that attracts Ethan to her.
Lena has a gigantic secret that reveals why she’s so afraid of turning sixteen. Can Ethan save her from herself?
——
I’ve had this book on my to-read list for a while, so I was excited when I found out that my library had it. I wasn’t disappointed. Though the size may be intimidating to some-I’m used to reading 500+ page books-it’s worth every page. These two authors create a world within our world-one that most humans are oblivious of. The concept was simple, but I like how it fit together perfectly.
Ethan is a perfectly normal boy who’s world is turned upside-down when he meets Lena. I like how the changes he goes through aren’t immediate-the reader can see all the steps in between the before and after.
So, I really enjoyed this book-at some points I couldn’t put it down. The only thing I didn’t really like was the ending. It seemed too clean cut and left a little to be desired. Anyway, I give “Beautiful Creatures” 4/5 stars. Wonderful, I’ll definitely read it again, but it was missing a little something.
I think there might be a sequel in the works. Not sure. If anyone knows, please tell me. 🙂
On a totally different note, HAPPY EASTER EVERYONE ❤
Hope you have a lovely day! 😉

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

