fiction · mystery

The Poacher’s Son by Paul Doiron

 

 

“The Poacher’s Son”

Author: Paul Doiron

Pages: [Hardcover] 336

Release Date: May 11th 2010

First Lines: When I was nine years old, my father took me deep into the Maine woods to see an old prisoner of war camp. My mom had just announced she was leaving him, this time for good.

Favorite Character: Charley Stevens

Summary:
Mike Bowditch loves his career as a Game Warden, even if it means he’ll get called to work at all hours of the night to go tramping through the forest. One night he gets back to find a message from his father, whom he hasn’t spoken to in several years, on his answering machine. Then, a cop turns up dead, and Mike’s father is the prime suspect.
Mike’s father is on the run, saying that he is innocent. Mike wants to trust him, but what has his father been doing during the past few years? And if his father is innocent, then who is the real killer?

Review:
I usually don’t go for mysteries. It’s not that I don’t like the genre, it’s that most young adult books these days don’t tend towards the mysterious. Well, this isn’t a young adult book, that’s for sure. It’s written for an older audience, but I still enjoyed it.
This is another great first read from Barnes and Noble. If you have a chance, check out their website [too lazy to search for the link at the moment, sorry] and go to their book clubs. They often have ARCs to give away in exchange for posting on the boards and participating in a discussion about the book. Fairly easy work for a free book that no one else has read before, in my opinion. They haven’t released a new First Look yet, but hopefully they will soon. I’ll make a post about it when that occurs because copies are limited and I’m sure all of you would love to get a free book.
Anyway, one thing I really liked about this book was the setting. Maine is a beautiful place. I visited the lower region of the state for vacation last summer. The enormous forests, the wildlife hidden around every corner, the feeling that you’re cut off from the world yet you’ve never been closer to nature than at this moment..
Anyway. Maine is cool. Everyone should visit.
The book started a little slow, picked up pace in the middle, then drug on for a while, before speeding to a conclusion. There isn’t really any one thing I can pick out that made me dislike it. It was just . . . Okay. Nothing special. A simple little mystery with a nice backdrop and well thought out characters. Some plot points didn’t seem to make sense-if your father hadn’t cared about you your entire life, would you risk everything to defend him even if everyone else was saying he did something? I don’t think I would.
All in all, “The Poacher’s Son” gets 3/5 stars.

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

