classic · fiction · history

“Catch 22” by Joseph Heller


“Catch 22”
Author: Joseph Heller
Pages [Paperback]: 463
Available in stores everywhere
First Lines: It was love at first sight. The first time Yossarian saw the chaplain he fell madly in love with him.
Memorable Quote: He was going to live forever, or die in the attempt.
Favorite Character: Yosarrian
Yosarrian is an officer in the American army during World War II. He would do anything to be sent home. He would stop at nothing to be taken off of combat duty. Follow Yosarrian as he goes about his daily duties-or avoiding his daily duties-and the different people he encounters.

I wasn’t too excited to start this book. I had to read it with my class at school and, well, we usually don’t read very good novels. This one was…okay. The entire novel was a satire-making fun of war. There were a few parts that really made me laugh, but sometimes the book seemed to drag on and on with the corny jokes! And sometimes it didn’t make sense just because the author didn’t feel like making sense in order to prove a point. I know that’s a certain style, but it irks me.
I liked how the characters were well defined, if annoying at times. I know, I know-they’re supposed to be this way. I’m just not used to reading any book like this one.
I’m giving “Catch 22” 2/5 stars: 1 star for the fact that it made me laugh [sometimes], and the other for the combination of it being a classic book [then it must be good enough for people to read XD] and having great characters.

Have you read/want to read Catch 22? Any other books you think I should read? Comment below!

4 thoughts on ““Catch 22” by Joseph Heller

  1. catch 22 was super although difficult to read at first but the best nuntheless, i will never forget yossarian and general peckam those two are my favorite, i read the book when i was at my darkest hour and it really did the trick it was fun i salute joseph heller.

    Like

  2. The cartoon doll in patriotic dress would be a quirky and amusing addition to any school project, or why not try the patriotic Mickey Mouse used on a child’s
    party invitation, for their very own 4th of July celebrations.
    Can I stand here or is this area of the floor taken.
    Individuals adore it when they learn something that ends on a
    happy note.

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

