fiction · romance · young adult

“The Last Song” by Nicholas Sparks

“The Last Song”

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Pages [Paperback]: 463

Available now

Opening Lines: Staring out her bedroom window, Ronnie wondered whether Pastor Harris was already at the church.

Memorable Quote: As far as I can tell, dumping soda on people is the equivalent of ‘Hi, it’s nice to meet you’ in this part of the world. Frankly, I think standard greetings work better, but what do I know?

Favorite Character: Will

Summary:

Ronnie is being forced to spend the summer with her father, even though she hasn’t seen or spoken to him in the three years its been since he left her family. Ronnie loves it in New York-the parties, her friends, getting into trouble. But what if this summer can bring new beginnings? What if her life could actually change, and she could learn to love again?

Review:

I borrowed this book from my friend, after she told me how great it was. I have to say that I agree with her. Nicholas Sparks is a great author, and I love his books. Especially since the movie just came out [not that I’ll see it-I’m not a big Miley Cyrus fan] I thought I’d better read this book.
I liked how Ronnie wasn’t perfect. She’d made mistakes in the past and continued to make mistakes throughout the book. This isn’t one of those I-think-I’ll-suddenly-change-my-whole-personality books.
Her little brother, Jonah, sounds so adorable. I’d really like to meet the little guy.
Will wasn’t perfect either, a definite plus. I don’t know how to describe it, but Nicholas Sparks has a way with characters. They were easy to pictures and I could almost hear their voices in my head-a definite plus for any book.
I’ve been trying to think of some negative comment to add, but I honestly can’t think of one. Get ready for a tear-jerker ending, though.
“The Last Song” gets a definite 5/5 stars.
This is also a book for my current challenge, What’s in a Word? This makes 2/6. Check it out, top right.
Have you read/want to read The Last Song? Think I should read any more books by Nicholas Sparks? Did you see the movie? Comment below!

2 thoughts on ““The Last Song” by Nicholas Sparks

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

