Fantasy · fiction · history · young adult

“The Lightning Thief” by Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief
Author: Rick Riordan

Pages: [Paperback] 375

This is the first in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Here are the reviews for book three, four, and five.

Opening Lines: Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood. If you’re reading this because you think you might be one, my advice is: close this book right now. Believe whatever lie your mom or dad told you about your birth, and try to lead a normal life.

Memorable Quote: I gave her my deluxe I’ll-Kill-You-Later stare.

Favorite Character: Percy Jackson

Summary:

Percy Jackson has never fit in. He’s been enrolled in more schools than he can count and has been kicked out of every single one of them. This time, he’s actually managed to stay in the same school almost the entire year. But Percy’s about to come face to face with mythological creatures, Greek gods, and monsters worse than any nightmare.
Zeus’s master bolt has been stolen and Percy is the prime suspect. Percy has only ten days to prove his innocence or a war will begin between the gods-with Earth as their battlefield. Percy must band together with a few unlikely allies in order to find the bolt, clear his name, and save the Earth.

Review:
When I first picked up this book, I wasn’t expecting much. It said that it was mainly for kids younger than I am. But when I actually started reading, I was pleasantly surprised. Percy and his friends are so funny, and I love how all of the Greek mythology ties into the story line. If you’ve seen the movie, the book is nothing like it. I liked the movie, but the book is so much better because it had more detail.
I give this book 5/5 stars. It’s a quick read, but it kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time!
^^This is from my old blog. I decided to post it because I have reviews for books 3, 4, and 5, so why not the first two? Book 2 review is coming up soon, I promise.

8 thoughts on ““The Lightning Thief” by Rick Riordan

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

