Fantasy · fiction · romance · science fiction · young adult

“The Everafter” by Amy Huntley


“The Everafter”
Author: Amy Huntley
Pages [hardcover]: 248
Opening Lines: I’m dead. Not my-parents-told-me-to-be-home-by-twelve-and-it’s-twoo’clock-now dead. Just dead. Literally. I think.
Favorite Character: Gabe
Madison Stanton doesn’t know where she is or how she got there. But she does know this – she is dead. And alone in a vast, dark space. The only company Maddy has in this place are luminescent objects that turn out to be all the things she lost while she was alive. And soon she discovers that, with these artifacts, she can reexperience – and even change – moments from her life.
Her first kiss.
A trip to Disney World.
Her sister’s wedding.
A disastrous sleepover.
In reliving these moments, Maddy learns illuminating and frightening truths about her life – and death.
–Summary taken from Goodreads–

I picked up this book quite randomly, to be honest. It looked short and sweet-exactly what I was looking for at the library that day. I wasn’t sure what I was expecting-probably a half-decent novel to stave off boredom-but I got more than I bargained for.
And I mean that in the best way possible.
This book took me only two days to read, yet it left me satisfied and wishing I actually owned the book. That’s how I know when I really like a book I borrow from somewhere-I wish that I own it so I can reread it whenever I wish.
This book is nothing like any other book that I’ve read that centers around death. The characters act their age-right around my age, actually, which is good because sometimes they mysteriously mature at random moments. Madison and Gabe were great leading characters, and I enjoyed every moment with them.
This is Amy Huntlley’s debut novel and I think she did a fantastic job with it.
“The Everafter” gets 5/5 stars.

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

