Fantasy · fiction · romance · science fiction · young adult

“Blue Moon” by Alyson Noel



Blue Moon

Author: Alyson Noel

Pages [paperback]: 284

Second book in ‘The Immortals’ series.

Available now.

Opening Lines: “Close your eyes and picture it. Can you see it?”
I nod, eyes closed.
“Imagine it right there before you. See its texture, shapes, and color-got it?”
I smile, holding the image in my head.
“Good. Now reach out and touch it. Feel its contours with the tips of your fingers, cradle its weight in the palms of your hands, then combine all of your senses-sight, touch, smell, taste-can you taste it?”

Memorable Quote: Explaining that I’m faced with a choice between being with the love of my life, or saving four lives that were never meant to end

Favorite Characters: Damen & Rayne

Summary:

Just as Ever is learning everything about her new abilities as an immortal, something terrible is happening to her beloved Damen. As Ever’s powers increase, Damen’s begin to fade after he is stricken by a mysterious illness that threatens his memory, his identity, and his life.

Desperate to save him, Ever travels to the mystical Summerland, where she uncovers Damer’s secret past and an ancient text revealing the workings of time. With the approaching blue moon heralding the only window for travel, Ever is forced to decide between turning back the clock and saving her family’s lives-or staying in the present and saving Damen, who grows weaker by the day . . .
[Summary taken from back cover]

Review:

When I first picked up ‘Evermore’, the first book of The Immortals series, it was out of desperation. I had nothing else to read and it was torture to go everywhere without a book in hand. I was quickly hooked on this series, but I admit that its taken me a while to get to this second book. I’ve had it for a few months, but reading books lent to me, checked out from the library, and sent for review have kept this gathering dust on a shelf.

Last week, my friend mentioned The Immortals, I promptly remembered Ever and Damen, and hastened to my bookshelf as soon as I got home, ready to immerse myself once again in their world. I wholly regret the time wasted not picking up this book.

‘Blue Moon’ is as gripping a thrill ride as the one preceding it! Ever and Damen’s immortal lives together are supposed to be perfect from here on out. Damen teaches Ever about her new powers [interrupted more than once for an impromptu kiss]. Then a new kid shows up at school, whom everyone but Ever immediately likes. And Damen starts to waste away…

This book was great! I love how Ever was independent in this book, making decisions for herself the entire time. Yet that could also be considered a downside for me, because I also hated how she never seemed to listen to anyone’s advice, even if it was good, and just did her own thing. The ending-great, but Ever annoyed me once again. Can’t help but feel she deserved that one…

Okay. A bit harsh. But other than a few minor things, ‘Blue Moon’ was fantastic. Definitely worth reading. I give it 4/5 stars.

3 thoughts on ““Blue Moon” by Alyson Noel

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

