Fantasy · fiction

“Never Let You Go” by Erin Healy

“Never Let You Go”

Author: Erin Healy

Pages [paperback]: 344

Available now

Opening Lines: For seven years, Lexi Solomon had been as cold as the wind that raced down the mountain above her home. She was not ice-in-her-veins coldm or I’ll-freeze-you-with-a-glance cold, but numb with the chill that came from being uncovered and abandoned.

Favorite Character
: Angelo

Summary:

Lexi lives in the shadow of choices her husband made. Especially Grant’s choice to leave seven years ago, without a word. Her relationship with their daughter, Molly, is now the most important thing in her life. Lexi will do anything-work grueling hours, attend church on her only day off, sacrifice financially-just to see Molly smile.

When Grant shows up declaring his intent to re-enter their daughter’s life, Lexi is skeptical of his motives. She soon determines not to let him near Molly. Then a drug dealer named Warden arrives on Lexi’s doorstep, demanding payment of Grant’s old debts.

But that’s just the earthly perspective. Staggering supernatural events are spilling into her world in real and shocking ways. Hell’s fury is great, but Heaven’s power is greater still.

[Taken from Goodreads]

Review:

I have to admit, I was first drawn to this book by the fantastic book cover. I just loved the design, the mysteriousness of it. I’m not sure why its taken me so long to get through this novel. It wasn’t that the writing was bad-it was very good. The plot was gripping and twisted every which way, leaving me guessing as to what was going to happen next and holding my breath during some intense scenes. Once I started reading it, I didn’t want to put it down. Yet once I put it down, it would be days before I picked it up again.

Ignoring my odd reading quirks, I loved the relationships between the characters. Every character had their own perceptions of those around them that was unique to them. For example, with Grant, Lexi thinks of him as her drug-addict husband who abandoned her, Lexi’s mom thinks of him as someone who needs a second chance, and Molly thinks of him as her long lost Dad who must love her because he’s her dad, after all.

‘Never Let You Go’ is an intriging story of how past events can come back to haunt you. It tells of redemption, consequences, love, and hate. I give it 4/5 stars.

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on ““Never Let You Go” by Erin Healy

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

