fiction · romance · young adult

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin

“Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac”

Author: Gabrielle Zevin

Pages [hardcover]: 288

Available Now

Opening Lines: Above all, mine is a love story. And like most love stories, this one involves chance, gravity, a dash of head trauma. It began with a coin toss. The coin came up tails; I was heads.

Memorable Quote: It was odd to have something so personal out there in that way, but the good thing about art is that no one necessarily knows what you mean by it anyway.

Favorite Character: Will

Summary:

If Naomi had picked tails, she would have won the coin toss. She wouldn’t have had to go back for the yearbook camera, and she wouldn’t have hit her head on the steps. She wouldn’t have woken up in an ambulance with amnesia. She certainly would have remembered her boyfriend, Ace. She might even have remembered why she fell in love with him in the first place. She would understand why her best friend, Will, keeps calling her “Chief.” She’d know about her mom’s new family. She’d know about her dad’s fiancée. She never would have met James, the boy with the questionable past and the even fuzzier future, who tells her he once wanted to kiss her. She wouldn’t have wanted to kiss him back.

But Naomi picked heads.

Review:

Gabrielle Zevin is a wonderful author-I love her book ‘Elsewhere’ and wanted to read this book to see if it was just as good as that was. ‘Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac’ was a fun, fast read that takes the reader through Naomi’s life as she tries to figure out what memories she has lost and what kind of person she was before the accident that caused her amnesia.

One thing I didn’t like about this book was how Naomi was constantly falling in and out of love with a different boy. I know that it was a huge part of the plot, but it seemed weird to have so many transitions between the different romances. I also didn’t like the ending. It seemed too abrupt for me, building up too much to end flatly.

Besides that, I don’t have any complaints. I like how Naomi changed through her experience, but didn’t like it when others automatically expected her to change. At some points she seemed unlikeable-lying to everyone for stupid reasons, etc. She pulled through and redeemed herself near the end for me.

Another plus of the book-I finally learned how to spell amnesiac.

‘Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac’ gets 4/5 stars.

8 thoughts on “Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin

  1. I completely disagree with almost everything that was mentioned in your post. I found Naomi egotistic and bratty. I couldn’t stand her at all and because of this character, I took three months to read the book. Four out of Five? Yeah right.
    -Dream Catcher

    Like

    1. I agree about Naomi-she was really unlikeable at points, like I said above. But overall, I still liked the book. Great to hear another opinion, though!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

