Fantasy · fiction · romance · science fiction

Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready


“Shade”

Author: Jeri Smith-Ready

Pages [hardcover]: 309

Available now

Opening Lines:
“You can hear me, can’t you?”
I punched the green print button on the copier to drown out the disembodied voice. Sometimes if I ignored them long enough, they went away-confused, discouraged, and lonelier than ever. Sometimes.
Okay, almost never. Usually they got louder.

Memorable Quote: For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal

Favorite Character: Zachary

Summary:

 When her boyfriend dies a most untimely death, Aura–who can see ghosts–is forced to reconsider her relationship with the living and dead.

Review:

I haven’t read many ghost stories lately, and the thought of being in love with a ghost caught my interest. How could an author solve this problem and keep readers interested? Plus, I hear there’s a sequel in the works [if anyone knows anything about this, please let me know!] so I’m looking forward to revisiting a world where everyone below the age of sixteen can see ghosts.

I think it’s cool how adults are unable to see the ghosts in Shade. They rely on the younger kids to let them know when ghosts are there. Another thing I thought was cool was how ghosts could testify against their murderers or sue someone for wrongful death, through kids acting as translators.

The love triangle between Logan, Aura, and Zachary, a Scottish exchange student [changing his voice to a Scottish accent the entire novel is challenging] is perfect! It kept me so interested and wanting more. I can’t wait to read the next book!

The title of the book is perfect. ‘Shades’ are ghosts gone bad-completely black, free to roam, and make anyone young enough to see ghosts sick. Shades are feared by everyone and are one of the bigger mysteries concerning the entire Shift [when people were first born with the ability to see ghosts].

‘Shade’ is a great book. I give it 5/5 stars and recommend it to anyone, especially fans of paranormal fantasy, ghost stories, and romance.

4 thoughts on “Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

