Fantasy · fiction · romance · young adult

Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr

Ink Exchange

Author: Melissa Marr

Available now!

Book 2 in the ‘Wicked Lovely’ series. Review for book 1 is here

Pages [hardcover]: 325

Opening Lines: Irial watched the girl stroll up the street: she was a bundle of terror and fury. He stayed in the shadows of the alley outside the tattoo parlor, but his gaze didn’t waver from her as he finished his cigarette.

Memorable Quote: “What does it mean when nightmares dream of peace? When shadows wish for light?”

Favorite Character: Niall

Summary:

Unbeknownst to mortals, a power struggle is unfolding in a world of shadows and danger. After centuries of stability, the balance among the Faery Courts has altered, and Irial, ruler of the Dark Court, is battling to hold his rebellious and newly vulnerable fey together. If he fails, bloodshed and brutality will follow.

Seventeen-year-old Leslie knows nothing of faeries or their intrigues. When she is attracted to an eerily beautiful tattoo of eyes and wings, all she knows is that she has to have it, convinced it is a tangible symbol of changes she desperately craves for her own life.

The tattoo does bring changes; not the kind Leslie has dreamed of, but sinister, compelling changes that are more than symbolic. Those changes will bind Leslie and Irial together, drawing Leslie deeper and deeper into the faery world, unable to resist its allures, and helpless to withstand its perils. . .

Review:

I am loving the Wicked Lovely series! These faery tales are much darker than the typical YA novel you’ll find these days. Full of darkness, deceit, love, and lust, this book was wonderful!

The first book, Wicked Lovely, was told from Aislinn’s point of view. Ink Exchange introduces a new narrator-Leslie, Aislinn’s best friend, who made a few brief appearances in the first novel. Aislinn wants desperately to keep her mortal life separate from her faery life. Unfortunately for Leslie, this is impossible.

Leslie is a girl who wants to work hard, save her money, and escape her hometown. She has a dark and tangled past which is slowly revealed throughout the novel. She decides to get a tattoo, to symbolize her new attitude, to give her confidence, to keep the fear away. And she gets more than she bargained for.

I wasn’t sure how I was going to like having a different narrator, but I ended up liking it immensely. Leslie is a great character and I was instantly addicted to this book and couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait to read the third book of this series!

Ink Exchange is a great book that I highly recommend. I give it 5/5 stars.

9 thoughts on “Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr

  1. It’s good to hear this Kayla becasue I wasn’t sure about continuing in this series. I don’t have a lot of money ( let’s hope my book will change that) so I’m very careful about what I spend. I enjoyed the first book but not as much as my real favorites – the Mortal instruments series and lately Graceling and Fire. I found the ending a bit disappointing. I’m not sure why. Anyway, I’ll get the next one now, but I hope it’s not too dark. I like a bit of humour too. Is there any?

    Like

    1. I also love the mortal instruments series, and I’m looking forward to reading Graceling. I think the Wicked Lovely series is worth continuing, but if you’re looking for a book with a little humor mixed in, I don’t think this would be the one. Thinking back, there aren’t many moments like that as far as I can remember.

      Like

  2. I was just looking up random stuff about this… finally, a reveiw that gives it justice!! I loved this book, definately my favorite book series ❤
    Seth, Irial, Niall….
    Epicness ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

