fiction · young adult

Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala + Giveaway at Holly’s blog!

Tell Me a Secret

Author: Holly Cupala

Available now

How I got it: I follow Holly’s blog and was lucky enough to win a signed copy of TMAS! Check out the blog-it’s loads of fun, with authors telling their own story secrets, contests, and more!

Pages [hardcover]: 292

Opening Lines: It’s tough, living in the shadow of a dead girl.

Memorable Quote:

Favorite Character: Lexi, Shelley

Summary:

Tell me a secret, and I’ll tell you one…

In the five years since her bad-girl sister Xanda’s death, Miranda Mathison has wondered about the secret her sister took to the grave, and what really happened the night she died. Now, just as Miranda is on the cusp of her dreams—a best friend to unlock her sister’s world, a ticket to art school, and a boyfriend to fly her away from it all—Miranda has a secret all her own.

Then two lines on a pregnancy test confirm her worst fears. Stripped of her former life, Miranda must make a choice with tremendous consequences and finally face her sister’s demons and her own.

In this powerful debut novel, stunning new talent Holly Cupala illuminates the dark struggle of a girl who must let go of her past to find a way into her own future.

Review:

Oh, how I loved this book.

Ahem. Now that that’s covered, I’ll explain myself. I’ve been looking forward to reading this for a while, and when I found out I won a copy, I was ecstatic. But of course, you can never plan on how a book will really turn out once you read it.

Once I started, I couldn’t stop. This book touches on deeper subjects then I imagined-loss and grief, denial, acceptance, change, responsibility and most obviously teen pregnancy. It definitely tugs on the heartstrings of readers.

The characters are original and well thought out. Xanda was too crazy, wild, and cool to be one of my friends, but I especially loved her safety pin dress, and now want one of my own!

This novel is definitely one of my new favorites, and I can’t wait to see what Holly Cupala comes up with next. This is her debut novel, and if this is the first, there can be only better things to come. Tell Me a Secret gets 5/5 stars.

Interested in the book? Holly’s giving away signed copies, plus tons of swag and other goodies!

 Party Prizes! Here’s what people can win:
 
Signed TMAS books!
TMAS t-shirts!
Fan-made bracelets from Hannah S!
Music that inspired the book!
Sneak Previews!
Bookmarks and Handmade Magnets!
and…
A Tell Me a Secret handmade necklace!
 

 
 
 
HOW TO WIN? Share the Trailer Love! 
 
 
Click here to go to youtube, then click the Share button to send to your Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, or blog! 5 pts each
Click here to tell us where you posted and enter to win!
 
 
 
Plus Holly will be featured at readergirlz for the entire month of August, with a live Twitter chat coming up!

2 thoughts on “Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala + Giveaway at Holly’s blog!

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

