fiction · young adult

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

If I Stay

Author: Gayle Forman

Available Now

Pages [hardcover]: 199

Opening Lines: Everyone thinks it was because of the snow. And in a way, I suppose that’s true.

Memorable Quote: I’m not sure this is a world I belong in anymore. I’m not sure that I want to wake up.

Favorite Characters: Gramps and Adam

Summary:

In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck…

A sophisticated, layered, and heartachingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make—and the ultimate choice Mia commands.

Review:

I randomly decided to check this out from my library. I vaguely remembered reading about it somewhere and it seemed like it would be enjoyable. If I Stay is a touching, heatfelt story of a teenage girl who, on a random drive with her family, gets into a terrible accident, wakes up, and finds herself looking down at herself. Is she dead? Is she alive? What’s happening?

This book is very heavy and you’ll shed a few tears along the way. It was short, compared to most books I read, but didn’t feel lacking in the least. It’s a quick read-I wanted desperately to know what Mia’s decision would be.

If I Stay is a great, quick read. I give it 4/5 stars.

6 thoughts on “If I Stay by Gayle Forman

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

