fiction · free verse · young adult

Glimpse by Carol Lynch Williams

Glimpse

Author: Carol Lynch Williams

Pages [hardcover]: 496

Where I got it: Read free online with Pulse It

Available Now!

Favorite Character: Lizzie

Summary:

Twelve year old girl Hope’s life is turned upside down when her older sister Lizzie becomes an elective mute and is institutionalized after trying to kill herself. Ever since their dad died Hope and Lizzie have relied on each other from a young age. Their mother is a reluctant and unreliable parent at best, who turns tricks to support the family. Throughout the course of this lyrical and heartbreaking narrative readers and Hope discover shocking truths and it’s up to Hope to bring the truth to light to save her sister.

Review:

I usually don’t like free verse novels. Okay, I’ve never really liked one until I read Glimpse. This book is packed full of emotional scenes and heartbreaking moments. Hope is such an innocent main character, contrasting with her mother and the secrets surrounding her.

Hope has no idea why Lizzie tried to kill herself. Could she have done something to cause it? Lizzie is stuck at the hospital and it’s up to Hope to find Lizzie’s diary, figure out what was wrong, and help her sister pull her life back together.

I loved how the story was set up and how the emotions involved were¬†emphasized. I definitely recommend this book, even if it really isn’t your thing to read a free verse book. I didn’t think I’d even finish it, and I ended up loving it! I give Glimpse 5/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Glimpse by Carol Lynch Williams

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

