Fantasy · fiction · romance · young adult

Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs

Forgive My Fins

Author: Tera Lynn Childs

Pages [hardcover]: 293

Available now!

Memorable Quote: He’s a little boy who doesn’t like other people playing with his toys.

Favorite Characters: Shannon and Quince

Summary:

Lily Sanderson has a secret, and it’s not that she has a huge crush on gorgeous swimming god Brody Bennett, who makes her heart beat flipper-fast. Unrequited love is hard enough when you’re a normal teenage girl, but when you’re half human, half mermaid like Lily, there’s no such thing as a simple crush.

Lily’s mermaid identity is a secret that can’t get out, since she’s not just any mermaid – she’s a Thalassinian princess. When Lily found out three years ago that her mother was actually a human, she finally realized why she didn’t feel quite at home in Thalassinia, and she’s been living on land and going to Seaview high school ever since, hoping to find where she truly belongs. Sure, land has its problems – like her obnoxious, biker boy neighbor Quince Fletcher – but it has that one major perk – Brody. The problem is, mermaids aren’t really the casual dating type – when they “bond,” it’s for life.

When Lily’s attempt to win Brody’s love leads to a tsunami-sized case of mistaken identity, she is in for a tidal wave of relationship drama, and she finds out, quick as a tailfin flick, that happily-ever-after never sails quite as smoothly as you planned.

Review:

Wow, being a mermaid is complicated. Sure, Lily can have human legs or a mermaid tail whenever she wants, but she’s also the princess of her kingdom and so has to find love before her 18th birthday-or lose her claim to the throne forever.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a mermaid book. I’ve never watched a mermaid movie other than The Little Mermaid. But though this novel teetered on the brink of becoming terribly corny, it never fell off. The cute fishy sayings and the quirks that come with the whole mermaid thing make up for it. Plus I love one of the main male characters, Quince. 😀 He’s so snarky.

When I heard that Lily was a mermaid princess, that almost turned me away from the book. Don’t let that happen to you! She still whines to her Daddy like any teenage girl, has temper tantrums, and is forced to deal with her own mistakes.

This book seemed like it would end several times, each with hundreds of pages left until the finish. I thought that was odd, and detracted from my enjoyment. It acts like it’ll nicely wrap up but then I notice there’s fifty pages left. Obviously something else will happen.

I didn’t know this was going to be a series, but now I’m glad! I love these characters and want to read about them again! There isn’t a hint that there’ll be a sequel until the last chapter, which I thought was odd. But, oh well.

Forgive My Fins gets 4/5 stars.

One thought on “Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

