Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

30 Nov

Prophecy of the Sisters

Author: Michelle Zink

Pages [hardcover]: 343

Opening Lines: Perhaps because it seems so appropriate, I don’t notice the rain. It falls in sheets, a blanket of silvery thread rushing to the hard almost-winter ground. Still, I stand without moving at the side of the coffin.

Memorable Quote: “I love you anyway, Lia,” he calls after me. “Until time tells, I mean.”

Favorite Characters: Sophia & Luisa

Summary:

In Michelle Zink’s debut novel, orphaned twin sister Lia and Alice Milthorpe are yoked together in an ancient prophecy that makes them enemies and could destroy them both. If Lia can break this familial curse, she can not only save her relationship with her beloved boyfriend; she can finally resolve the mystery behind her parents’ death.

Review:

I’ve been looking forward to reading this book for a while. My library just got it and I was super excited! Yet this was really hard to get into-the beginning sort of dragged. The pace of the plot picked up a lot in the middle, however, grabbing my attention and keeping it there until the end. Now I can’t wait to read the next book! 

The summary above, that I found on Goodreads, doesn’t really give the book justice. Lia isn’t just concentrating on keeping the love of her boyfriend, or figuring out how her parents died. She’s trying to find if her sister is friend or enemy. She’s attempting to piece together an ancient prophecy, one that forever changes her life. And she’s trying to save the world from the ultimate evil.

Lia is a bright main character that, while having her own faults, knows when to accept the help of others. She has the support of great friends and believes she cannot conquer her adversary without them. I especially like this because so many of the books I’ve read lately have had plots revolving solely around the leading female role. No friendship, no help-even when they’re fighting against all odds.

The relationship between Alice and Lia is odd, but exceptionally portrayed. The change between the two isn’t instant, or blatantly unnatural.

Prophecy of the Sisters gets 4/5 stars. It’s a great read filled with suspense and intrigue. I was trying to figure out the puzzle of the prophecy alongside Lia. I highly recommend this book, and look forward to the sequel.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 435 other followers

