action · Fantasy · fiction · series · young adult

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

The Lost Hero
The Heroes of Olympus #1
Book 2: The Son of Neptune

Author: Rick Riordan [also wrote the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, along with The Red Pyramid]

Pages [hardcover]: 553

Memorable Quote: “Can we just call them storm spirits?” Leo asked. “Venti makes them sound like evil espresso drinks.”

Favorite Characters: Leo & Jason

Available now!

Book 1 in the Heroes of Olympus series!

Summary:

Jason has a problem. He doesn’t remember anything before waking up in a bus full of kids on a field trip. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper and a best friend named Leo. They’re all students at a boarding school for “bad kids.” What did Jason do to end up here? And where is here, exactly?
Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, ever since she had that terrifying nightmare. Piper doesn’t understand her dream, or why her boyfriend suddenly doesn’t recognize her. When a freak storm hits, unleashing strange creatures and whisking her, Jason, and Leo away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood, she has a feeling she’s going to find out.
Leo has a way with tools. When he sees his cabin at Camp Half-Blood, filled with power tools and machine parts, he feels right at home. But there’s weird stuff, too—like the curse everyone keeps talking about. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist that each of them—including Leo—is related to a god.
Join new and old friends from Camp Half-Blood in this thrilling first  book in The Heroes of Olympus series.

Review:

I’ve had this book on my TBR pile ever since it was released, but never got around to reading it until last week. I’m not sure why-maybe because I knew I’d have to wait another year for book 2 to come out? That’s probably it. Because now I’ll be tortured by the immense amount of time between now and next fall.

This book had me from the start. Jason, an amnesiac turned hero, wakes to find himself on a bus, surrounded by people he doesn’t recognize, going to who knows where. His memories are gone; he doesn’t even remember his last name.

Some old faces are back, Annabeth and Thalia included. It was nice to get a mix of the old and the new, spicing it up a little while not completely letting go of the characters that made me love Camp Half-Blood in the first place.

Once I finally started reading, I couldn’t stop. Like the Percy Jackson series, the entire book is an adventure, filled with marvelous villians, unexpected plot twists, and quotes worth rolling on the floor laughing for. I love Mr. Riordan’s sense of humor; it’s one of the things that first attracted me to the series. I wanted to read more of that.

While I’m furious at the wait, I’m delighted by this book. It’s crazy and awesome (crawsome?), funny and sad, sweet and sour. It has a little bit of everything, all mixed up into one delicious novel. I can’t wait to read more about these characters, their quest, and Camp Half-Blood. I give The Lost Hero 5/5 stars. If you haven’t read it, you’re definitely missing out.

18 thoughts on “The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

  1. I am soooooo glad i read this book! ^-^ it is just AMAZING!!! In my opinion, this is a great start of a new series after reading The Lightning Thief!

    Like

  2. The Lost Hero is one of the funniest books I’ve ever read! it was great! this website is great too. it’s pretty much all the answers too my book report that is due tomarrow. THANKS!!

    Like

  3. the percy jackson books are the best books in the world. mr. riordan you inspier me to try and right my own novel as well but i already know it not going to be as best asa the ones that yoyu mae.thank you for makeing those books. 🙂

    Like

  4. I haven’t completely read it but the Percy Jackson series blew my mind!!!! I wake up and it the first thing on my mind!! I am going fan crazy !! Inluv percabeth and Jason and piper to xD can’t wait to finish it btw Percy Jackson and the Olympians was my rave series way better than the red pyramid

    Like

  5. Is it possible to be in luv with a book cause if so.. I am So in luv I need to read it!!! Does he rely fall in to taturaus for her?!? Oh Percy Jason and piper and Leo and annabeth xD sorry if I spoiled idk though I cry sometimes thinking that he is missing I miss Percy too It’s obvious there going to find him but omg I AM GOING IN SANE

    Like

  6. Rick this is the best serious ever! Plz never stop I wanna be an author and it’s in the process of being published….. U are the best author ever!!! If it weren’t for u well I would go more insane xD best wishes!! Pss percabeth long live! All of hades has broken out on me in real life… This makes me feel better knowing someone had a worse fake life lol and may ur soul go to the island of the blest!!!!

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

