Fantasy · fiction · romance · series · young adult

Fallen by Lauren Kate

Fallen

Author: Lauren Kate

Pages [hardcover]: 452

Memorable Quote: “Trust is a careless pursuit at best. At worst, it’s a good way to get yourself killed.”

Favorite Characters: Penn & Arianne

Book 1 in the Fallen series

Summary:

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

Review:

Does that summary sound familiar to anyone? I’ve found an annoying repitition in young adult literature lately. The huge secret. The gorgeous mystery boy, who shuns the narrator, who just can’t help but [to put it in plain terms] stalk him insistintly and fall in love with him even though they’ve only exchanged five words?

Mini rant over. On to actually reviewing the book. Plot was, it was good. Good enough to keep me reading to the end, though I seriously considered setting it down more than once. The supporting characters were great, with their own quirks that made me love them. Penn was especially awesome. But the main two, Daniel and Luce, were the ones I had problems with. Though Daniel showed absolutely no interest in Luce (actually, he was outwardly hostile to her). she wanted to know him and really forced herself into his life. She even Google-stalked him. I thought people only did that in real life.

Stalkerish tendencies aside, I couldn’t really see what Daniel and Luce saw in each other. Luce kept talking about his gray eyes, his wonderful body, etc., etc. Is that all there is to a relationship? It seems to be for theirs so far, at least. I’m hoping that in the next book, the two will sort things out and actually get to know one another. Shocking.

Yes, I’m going to read the next book. The plot points saved the book for me. I wanted to know what the mysterious shadows were, what was up with Daniel, and why everyone acted so oddly around Luce. I’m going to give this 3/5 stars: One off for characters, one off for how I was barely kept interested. Here’s hoping the next book will blow my mind! 😀

5 thoughts on “Fallen by Lauren Kate

  1. This was one I wasn’t sure about either. It was on the edge for the reasons you say, but the reincarnation idea solved the instant attraction problem for me. The epilogue made me feel that the next book would be more interesting so I’m going to get it eventually too.

    Like

    1. The reincarnation bit did help it make a lot more sense! And with everything that’s still unanwered, plus that epilouge, I think something big is bound to happen.

      Like

  2. I felt about the same way you do about FALLEN. I liked the follow-up TORMENT a bit better – the pace does pick up, but there are even more questions. Will look for your review of that one!

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

