Uncategorized

Books to Movies: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, in theaters now, is the third movie released in the world of Narnia. The series is unique in that the books were written, published, and established chronologically in completely different orders. Now, the movie order is added to that list, as The Magician’s Nephew, technically the first of the books, and The Horse and His Boy, the third, have been skipped. Presumably this is because most of the characters in those novels are not in the movies now being shown; viewers would be confused when confronted with the completely different storyline.

That said, when I saw The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (okay, I’ve just called it Narnia 3 for . . . ever, actually. The other title seemed too long), I was disappointed with how much was changed. I expected a difference because that’s the norm, but this whole mysterious ‘mist’ that was . . . attacking everyone? The root of all evil, or something? Yeah, I never heard of it before . . . To give the movie a more structured plotline, the mist was added in. It did add nice moral themes to the story.

I did enjoy seeing Ben Barnes again. 😉 Caspian is definitely one character I’m going to miss.

I loved the Narnia books (they totally made my childhood) and am loving the movies. Though a lot has changed, it doesn’t mean they aren’t fantastically made. The special effects (as well as I can judge, and I know nothing about them xD) were great, and it’s a fun adventure film.

Except for that sea serpent. Ugh, I’m going to have nightmares.

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

