books to movies · fiction · romance

Books to Movies: Dear John

After reading and reviewing Dear John last week, I decided to pick up and watch the movie. If only to get my friends off my back, as they absolutely insisted I watch the thing. (: Please, Channing Tatum was in it, and if it turned out to be a train wreck, I could at least mute it and watch something pleasant…

Turned out, I didn’t have to do to extremes. The movie was great, and there were moments when scenes from the book played out exactly as I imagined them, which I always think is awesome. It’s one thing to picture a scene in your mind, filling it with possibilities, and quite another to see it on the big screen-or, in my case, a not-so-big screen.

The only thing that bothered me was the pointless change of details. Savannah lives by the beach in the movie. In the book she’s only down for the summer. Maybe they thought it’d make more sense if she lived close to John? Also in the book, Alan, the autistic boy, is Tim’s younger brother-definitely not his son, as portrayed in the film. I’m really clueless as to why they felt the need to include Alan as a son. Did it really affect anything else in the movie? Nope.

And then there was a huge, enormous, ending-shattering difference that left me thinking oh no they didn’t. I won’t say what they did, because it would definitely ruin the end for those who haven’t yet seen it. Suffice it to say I was extremely annoyed.

I liked it, overall. It wasn’t a favorite, and I won’t be begging to rent it again anytime soon. But I don’t regret watching it. It was good, in its own way.

2 thoughts on “Books to Movies: Dear John

  1. I was disappointed with the end too. I wish they din’t change it,because after reading the book, it left a deep impact .. somehow it seemed real and nothing like a cliche..
    The movie din’t have that . I liked the movie and certain parts were very good,but I agree what with the ending being disappointing.

    Like

    1. I think we felt the same way. (: The movie showed some parts wonderfully, while completely changing others. I’m fine with altering little details, but not the entire ending! Then there wasn’t anything that could make up for it. It was just…over. It let me extremely disatisfied.

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

