fiction · young adult

Paper Towns by John Green

Paper Towns

Author: John Green

Pages [hardcover]: 305

Memorable Quote: “Talking to a drunk person was like talking to an extremely happy, severely brain-damaged three-year-old.”

Favorite Character: Quentin

Available now

Summary:

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life – dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge – he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues – and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

Printz medalist John Green returns with the brilliant wit and searing emotional honesty that have inspired a new generation of listeners.

Review:

 I’ve waited far too long to read one of John Green’s novels. I’ve heard nothing but praise for them, but never had the urge to pick one up before now. Thankfully, my local library had a copy of Paper Towns, which I snatched half on a whim, half to find out whether or not it would click with me.

I can’t put my finger on what exactly made me like this book. The characters were brilliant, and exactly like teenagers-fickle and filled with flaws, but not necessarily bad because of this. And I think so many young adult books dumb it down or add large words that just don’t mix with modern speech. The twisting plot, attitude problems, and relationship drama reminds me of myself and my friends. It’s always great when you can relate to what you read.

I like the little quirks Quentin & Co. are given. Margo is a mystery in and of herself, adding plenty of suspense and intrigue. Though I definitely liked the story from the start, the plot picked up near the end and I ended up blowing off a night of homework just to get to the end. ^^ So, be warned. Whatever you were doing before you started this…Prepare to procrastinate with Paper Towns.

Paper Towns is a great novel that I give 4.5/5 stars. I recommend it to any mystery, young adult, or John Green fans. Plus, any nerdfighters out there. I’ve been one for…half a year now, I think. Have no idea what I’m talking about? Check out vlogbrotherse on youtube, and visit their channel page here. Fight for awesome and decrease world suck!

6 thoughts on “Paper Towns by John Green

  1. Always nice to see a fellow Nerdfighter doing their thing.
    Nice and short review there, it’s encompasses the plot and the writing style well.

    Looking forward to reading more from you,
    Silvester.

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

