Fantasy · fiction · series · young adult

Mistwood by Leah Cypress

Mistwood

Author: Leah Cypress

Pages [hardcover]: 304

Memorable Quote: “Not all dangers are obvious.”

Favorite Characters: Isabel, Ven, & Rokan

Available now

Book 1 in the Mistwood series

Summary:

The Shifter is an immortal creature bound by an ancient spell to protect the kings of Samorna. When the realm is peaceful, she retreats to the Mistwood. But when she is needed she always comes.

Isabel remembers nothing. Nothing before the prince rode into her forest to take her back to the castle. Nothing about who she is supposed to be, or the powers she is supposed to have.

Prince Rokan needs Isabel to be his Shifter. He needs her ability to shift to animal form, to wind, to mist. He needs her lethal speed and superhuman strength. And he needs her loyalty—because without it, she may be his greatest threat.

Isabel knows that her prince is lying to her, but she can’t help wanting to protect him from the dangers and intrigues of the court . . . until a deadly truth shatters the bond between them.

Now Isabel faces a choice that threatens her loyalty, her heart . . . and everything she thought she knew.

Review:

 There aren’t enough words in the English language to express how much I love this book. Seriously. I picked it up from the library, recognizing it from when I’d browsed a few blogs, and thought it might be an okay read but it was truly amazing and hooked me right into the story.

Usually I don’t like books where the main character has some form of amnesia and has no idea what’s going on or who they are. This worked perfectly for me! The plot took so many unexpected twists and turns, and I loved every twist.

One aspect of the book I adored was that romance was not the main focus. Most YA books, or books in general, have that as one of the central points. But this concentrates on Isabel, and her realization of herself.

I am so glad that this is going to be a series! I am definitely not ready to let go of these characters and look forward to reading more about them. I give Mistwood 5/5 stars. It’s an amazing book that I know I’ll continue to rave about!

3 thoughts on “Mistwood by Leah Cypress

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

