5 stars · Fantasy · fiction · series · young adult

Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler

Hunger

Author: Jackie Morse Kessler

Pages: [hardcover]: 177

Opening Lines: Lisabeth Lewis didn’t mean to become Famine. She had a love affair with food, and she’d never like horses (never mind the time she asked for a pony when she was eight; that was just a girl thing).

Favorite Characters: Lisa & Death

Available now!

The Horsemen of the Apocalypse: The Rider’s Quarter #1

Summary:

“Thou art the Black Rider. Go thee out unto the world.”

Lisabeth Lewis has a black steed, a set of scales, and a new job: she’s been appointed Famine. How will an anorexic seventeen-year-old girl from the suburbs fare as one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse?

Traveling the world on her steed gives Lisa freedom from her troubles at home: her constant battle with hunger, and her struggle to hide it from the people who care about her. But being Famine forces her to go places where hunger is a painful part of everyday life, and to face the horrifying effects of her phenomenal power. Can Lisa find a way to harness that power — and the courage to battle her own inner demons?

Review:

I’ve been very excited to read this book for a while. The concept of it seemed unlike anything I’ve read before: The plot revolves around an anorexic teen, the scales of Famine, and Death. I love how Death was personified in the book-he was hilarious, even when Lisa wanted to roll her eyes at his odd sense of humor.

This book was incredibly short. Once I got into it, it took me little more than a day to complete it. I immediately loved Lisa, though sometimes I just wanted to slap her in frustration.

Hunger is brutally realistic, not leaving out one detail of how horrible anorexia or bulimia can be. It also gives a view of world hunger. The author states in the back of the book that some scenes that Lisabeth sees as Famine actually happened, and are still happening today. It’s terrible to think that with everything I have, there are countless numbers who go without a meal for days. If that can’t drive you to end that pain, nothing can.

Despite its certainly dark themes, Hunger still managed to break up any overpowering chapters with bits of humor. Characters like Death, who is, of course, creepy, drop witty lines that had me smiling. Lisa’s snarky little comments always had me, too.

I definitely recommend this book, more so than a lot of others. It’s a quick read, but no less powerful for its length. This story is something that will stay with me for a while, and it had me thinking. I love when a novel does that. I can’t wait to read the second book, Rage, which is released in April! I give Hunger 5/5 stars. I think this will remain one of my favorite books.

One thought on “Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

