3 stars · action · fiction · romance · science fiction · series · young adult

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

I Am Number Four

Author: Pittacus Lore

Pages [hardcover]: 440

Memorable Quote: “There were hugs. There were words said by each of them. I don’t remember what they were. Nothing haunts me more.”

Favorite Characters: Sam & Bernie

Available Now!

Lorian Legacies #1

Summary:

In the beginning they were a group of nine. Nine aliens who left their home planet of Lorien when it fell under attack by the evil Mogadorian. Nine aliens who scattered on Earth. Nine aliens who look like ordinary teenagers living ordinary lives, but who have extraordinary, paranormal skills. Nine aliens who might be sitting next to you now.

The Nine had to separate and go into hiding. The Mogadorian caught Number One in Malaysia, Number Two in England, and Number Three in Kenya. All of them were killed. John Smith, of Paradise, Ohio, is Number Four. He knows that he is next.

I AM NUMBER FOUR is the thrilling launch of a series about an exceptional group of teens as they struggle to outrun their past, discover their future—and live a normal life on Earth.

I AM NUMBER FOUR.
I AM NEXT.

Review:

This novel has a very interesting premise, and I loved learning about Lorien and what happened to Number Four’s planet. His maturing through the novel, discovering his powers and finding his own identity, was a nice journey.

I really didn’t like the writing style of I Am Number Four. The sentences were choppy and directly to the point. There was no show of emotions, though it’s told in first person. No descriptions, opinions, thoughts on anything. It was like reading the script for a movie. It was just . . . dry.

But I didn’t hate the book. The plot was enough to carry by itself, and the strange creatures filling it were interesting. Things got a bit confusing in the end, with the alien aspect taking over, and while attempting to understand the various weapons being used, I was lost. I’m still not entirely sure what happened.

While this book was certainly enjoyable, it’s not one of my favorites. I’ll probably end up renting the next, due to be released in August, from the library, but I won’t buy it. I Am Number Four gets 3/5 stars. It was good, but would have been better had it been written differently.

2 thoughts on “I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

