A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn

23 Mar

 

A Kiss in Time

Author: Alex Flinn [also wrote Beastly]

Pages [paperback]: 371

Memorable Quote: “Parents always forgive you. Like sometimes, you see parents on the news, and their kid just got busted for murdering a 7-11 clerk, and they’re like, ‘But my Bubba’s a good boy. He’d never hurt a fly.’ So I’m sure your parents would forgive you for whatever you did.”

Favorite Characters: Talia & Jack

Available now

Summary:

Talia fell under a spell. . . .
Jack broke the curse.

I was told to beware the accursed spindle, but it was so enchanting, so hypnotic. . . .

I was looking for a little adventure the day I ditched my tour group. But finding a comatose town, with a hot-looking chick asleep in it, was so not what I had in mind.

I awakened in the same place but in another time—to a stranger’s soft kiss.

I couldn’t help kissing her. Sometimes you just have to kiss someone. I didn’t know this would happen.

Now I am in dire trouble because my father, the king, says I have brought ruin upon our country. I have no choice but to run away with this commoner!

Now I’m stuck with a bratty princess and a trunk full of her jewels. . . . The good news: My parents will freak!

Think you have dating issues? Try locking lips with a snoozing stunner who turns out to be 316 years old. Can a kiss transcend all—even time?

Review:

Alex Flinn’s Beastly is what really got me interested in modernized fairy tales, so I was happy to find another retold classic by her; this time focusing on Sleeping Beauty. Which also happens to be my favorite princess story.

When first reading, I was afraid I’d be annoyed by the alternating narrators, Talia and Jack. They’re both completely full of themselves and snobbish to the extreme. I knew they were written that way purposefully, but sometimes that sort of character just isn’t enjoyable for me. But I got over that fear within a few chapters, because having Talia experience the modern world was completely hilarious. Everything went wonderfully from then on.

I really loved how the evil presence was introduced in this book-Malvolia, the witch that cast the spell on Talia that made her sleep for three hundred years. She didn’t give up on revenge after Jack’s kiss broke the spell, which I liked because it made sense as well as made the plot more interesting.

I’m definitely going to have to check out Cloaked, another fractured fairy tale penned by Alex Flinn. I have a feeling I’ll eventually read everything by her. She’s a wonderfully creative, fresh, and funny author.

I give A Kiss in Time 5/5 stars. I love this new take on Sleeping Beauty!

6 Responses to “A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn”

  1. Natalie Gorna March 23, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Hi! I also reviewed “A Kiss in Time,” and this is definitely my favorite so far by Alex Flinn. I’ve recently read “Cloaked”, and you won’t be disappointed with all the various fairy tales Flinn re-told while sticking to one character narrating his story this time, a teenage shoe salesman named Johnny. It’s also got talking animal characters this time, which is a new and humorous addition. However, this time the villains are totally evil, unlike Malvolia who changed in the end and lesson-teaching Kendra. Anyway, you have a great review here and keep up the good writing on your blog! Btw, great blog title! :)

    • Kayla March 24, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      Thank you so much! ^^ And that’s great to here, because I wasn’t sure how mixing together several fairy tales would work! I’m definitely excited to read it now. A different sort of villian would be nice, too. It’s good to see everything work out for the best but sometimes you just need someone to dislike. xD

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. March 2011 Wrap Up « Caught Between the Pages - April 1, 2011

    [...] Legacies #1]-Pittacus Lore You Wish-Mandy Hubbard Paranormalcy [Paranormalcy #1]-Kiersten White A Kiss in Time-Alex Flinn The Replacement [The Replacement #1]-Brenna [...]

  2. Cloaked by Alex Flinn « Caught Between the Pages - June 24, 2011

    [...] Alex Flinn [also wrote: A Kiss in Time & [...]

  3. Towering by Alex Flinn | Caught Between the Pages - June 10, 2013

    […] Alex Flinn [also wrote: A Kiss in Time, Beastly, and […]

  4. Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee | Caught Between the Pages - January 28, 2014

    […] If you like this book, you might also like Catalina or A Kiss in Time. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers

