3 stars · Fantasy · fiction · romance · young adult

Impossible by Nancy Werlin

Impossible

Author: Nancy Werlin

Pages [hardcover]: 384

First Thoughts: The edition I picked up didn’t have much of a summary on it, so I bought it out of intuition alone. Hopefully it will turn out to be as good as I’m thinking it will be. If not, at least it will look pretty sitting on my shelf until I give it away.

Memorable Quote: “We formed the Fellowship of the Ring when we should’ve all just gone on medication.”

Favorite Characters: Zach & Lucy

Summary:

Lucy Scarborough is only 17, but she carries the burden of a curse that has already struck down several women in her family. Each of her afflicted ancestors failed at completing three seemingly impossible tasks, and each succumbed to madness at the birth of her first child. Facing this tragic fate, Lucy braces herself for a losing battle. Mercifully, she has allies in her struggle: intensely sympathetic foster parents and her loyal childhood friend Zach.

Review:

I’m not sure what to think of this novel. After I finished it, I was left content, sure that a good story had just been laid out and neatly wrapped up with interesting characters interspersed throughout the plot. There were touching moments, creepy parts, and times when I couldn’t wait for the puzzle to be solved. But there were also long spaces of time where I wished for something . . . more to happen. It isn’t that Impossible wasn’t good. It just didn’t live up to my expectations.

I’ve run into books like this before. When I was reading it, the writing wasn’t horrible, and it was definitely interesting. But I could easily be torn away from the book by the simplest things. When I read something, I want to hate distractions, and detest whoever makes me get up and do something other than sit there and read on. That’s what bothered me most about this text. It seemed like something I’d use to fill my time when I’d have nothing else to read.

One thing that I noticed was that everything that was really important-such as research into the curse-was rushed into a few paragraphs, while Lucy’s feelings, which were often repeated many times, took up several pages. I liked being able to see inside her character, especially when it wasn’t a first-person book, but there wasn’t enough substance to back it up.

I give Impossible 3/5 stars. It was an okay read that I may or may not give another go. Maybe I didn’t like it so much because I just finished a few amazing books. For now it just didn’t do anything for me.

One thought on “Impossible by Nancy Werlin

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

