5 stars · fiction · romance · science fiction · series · young adult

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

The Adoration of Jenna Fox

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Pages [hardcover]: 266

Memorable Quote:  I thought grandmothers had to like you. It’s a law or something.

Favorite Characters: Ethan & Lily

Summary:

Who is Jenna Fox? Seventeen-year-old Jenna has been told that is her name. She has just awoken from a coma, they tell her, and she is still recovering from a terrible accident in which she was involved a year ago. But what happened before that? Jenna doesn’t remember her life. Or does she? And are the memories really hers?

This fascinating novel represents a stunning new direction for acclaimed author Mary Pearson. Set in a near future America, it takes readers on an unforgettable journey through questions of bio-medical ethics and the nature of humanity. Mary Pearson’s vividly drawn characters and masterful writing soar to a new level of sophistication.

Review:

Wow. This is one of those books that really forces you to think, and I love it when a novel can do that to me. It tugged at my heart, messed with my brain, and gave me a puzzle that had me guessing what would happen next up until the end.

The characters of The Adoration of Jenna Fox are brilliantly made. I felt like I knew someone that acted like each one of them, making it easier for me to picture them and imagine the scenes as they were told.

Everything is seen through Jenna’s eyes, as she attempts to put together the pieces of a life she’s not sure she ever really lived. Though she can be as self-centered and curious as any teen, she’s also incredibly aware of other people’s feelings and works to keep other people happy. The only person she neglects is herself.

This has to be one of the best science fiction books I’ve read lately. It really makes me want to read more of this genre! Apparently there will be another Jenna Fox book, set to release in late August. I’ll definitely be picking that up as soon as it comes out.

I give The Adoration of Jenna Fox 5/5 stars. It’s a very enjoyable read, even for those who don’t often go for science fiction. I say give it a chance!

3 thoughts on “The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

