5 stars · fiction · romance · series · young adult

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Pages [hardcover]: 391

Memorable Quote: “Keep in mind that people change, but the past doesn’t.”

Favorite Characters: Vee & Patch

Summary:
For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her…until Patch comes along.
With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment, but after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is far more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

Review:

I’ll admit that I started this book with low expectations. I only picked it up because my friend recently read it and started raving about how fantastic it was. I figured if she liked it, I should give it a try too.

In the beginning of the book, I hated Patch, as a person. As a character, I thought he was brilliant. Very arrogant, cocky, and definitely not the typical mysterious, brooding male lead. He works to make Nora uncomfortable, and while I would have had the same reaction, it made me laugh. He was great!

Nora was a good character, too. Loyal to her friends, and to herself. She has her own personality issues, but sticks true to herself throughout the entirety of the novel.

By far, Vee was my favorite. Her incessant attempts to hook Nora up with someone, her flippant attitude about school, her odd little diet, all added up into a fun character. I loved reading about her.

At points, the book did get on my nerves. Some things seemed to make no sense, but once I reached the conclusion, I realized exactly why everything had happened. While I was happy that the loose ends were neatly tied, I would have liked something less . . . Puzzling. But perhaps that only added to the book’s excitement. It had me on the edge of my seat (or bed, depending on where I read it) through nearly the entire thing. I read way later than a should have and  skipped out on homework and study time to get just another page in.

It was worth it. Especially for that ending. It was my second favorite scene in the entire book. The first has to be when they were in the hotel.

And that’s how I know a book has gotten to me, no matter how long (or short) a time it took to win me over. If I’m still thinking about it and picking out favorite bits of dialogue and scenes, you’ve got me hooked.

I can’t wait to get the second book, Crescendo. I’d love to read it right now! Hush, Hush gets 5/5 stars from me. Go read it! You might be surprised and love it, too.

5 thoughts on “Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. Hi! I just reviewed this book on my blog, too! I wasn’t as excited about it was you were, although I do understand why you liked it. For me, while some of the confusing parts were answered, they still didn’t always make sense. But the characters are unique and I am also excited to read the rest of the series!

    You can check out my review at blookbog.wordpress.com!

    ~Jenni

    Like

    1. Hey Jenni! I’ll definitely have to check out your review! It’s always nice to hear someone else’s perspective. I can’t wait to get to the next book! 😀

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

