books to movies

Books to Movies: Charlie St. Cloud

I’ve been dying to see the film version of Charlie St. Cloud ever since I read the book it was based on, way back in September. I think that’s when the movie was in theaters, actually,  but I ended up never seeing it. Luckily I found the time to watch it the other day, and was pleasantly surprised with how true it stayed to the novel. I fell in love with the book, so full of twists and turns I never knew what to expect. I knew, when seeing the movie, I couldn’t forget that I already had the ending fixed in my head. A good movie can make you forget that, and that’s what this did.

Zac Efron is an actor I’ve warmed up to over the years, and he did a splendid job playing Charlie. I loved going through every emotion of the loss of his brother with him, and following him on the path to closure.

One aspect I really liked that was emphasized a lot in the film and not so much in the book is that for a majority of the story, you can’t be sure whether Charlie really is seeing these ghosts, or if he’s truly as crazy as most of the people in town think he eyes. The psychological part of it was nicely portrayed, and brought around a new level of the book I hadn’t considered before.

Charlie St. Cloud was a great movie. It made me want to laugh, cry, and appreciate everything that I have, before it’s too late. I’ll definitely be watching this again, and I highly recommend it.

Check out the trailer! :

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

