3 stars · fiction · mystery · romance · young adult

Losing Faith by Denise Jaden

 

Losing Faith

Author: Denise Jaden

Pages [paperback]: 377

Opening Lines: The statue has got to go. That’s my first thought as I prep the living room for Dustin’s visit later tonight.

Memorable Quote: “Wow, someone woke up on the wrong side of the Midol.”

Favorite Character: Alis

Summary:

A terrible secret. A terrible fate.

When Brie’s sister, Faith, dies suddenly, Brie’s world falls apart. As she goes through the bizarre and devastating process of mourning the sister she never understood and barely even liked, everything in her life seems to spiral farther and farther off course. Her parents are a mess, her friends don’t know how to treat her, and her perfect boyfriend suddenly seems anything but.

As Brie settles into her new normal, she encounters more questions than closure: Certain facts about the way Faith died just don’t line up. Brie soon uncovers a dark and twisted secret about Faith’s final night…a secret that puts her own life in danger.

Review:

 This book took me a very long time to read. I don’t know how many months I’ve struggled over it, picking it up at random intervals until a more captivating book came along to knock it off my radar. I finally set to reading the last 100 pages without interupption, and ended up liking it more than I expected at a first glance.

Losing Faith is a great story about a girl, Brie, attempting to understand the death of her sister, Faith, with whom she had lost touch. Though both the police and her parents are willing to lay the case aside, Brie wants to investigate things herself. Something odd seems to be going on, and she’s determined to get to the bottom of things. Even if that means making unlikely allies and putting her own life in danger.

Brie and the rest of the cast of characters were surprisingly well-defined and refreshing. They were all filled with different flaws and characteristics that made them realistic and memorable, though I didn’t realize this until the book was nearly finished. I came to love Alis, for his simple sweetness, and Tessa, for her tough exterior and covert knowledge. Even Brie surprised me; when I first started reading things from her perspective, I thought she was stuck-up and that I’d grow to hate her. By the end, either she changed, or I did, because my feelings toward her warmed significantly.

Though it seems like the entire book would be centered completely on religion and finding God, as Faith was obsessed with religion and Brie has basically given up on it, that wasn’t the main focus. It was about sisterhood, family, how to deal (and how not to deal) with a family member’s death, and to not judge a person before getting to know them.

The ending, while not completely unexpected, was a bit odd, though satisfying in its own right. All questions I had were answered by the ending, tied up neatly into a smooth finish.

Losing Faith took me a while to get into, and I really wish it had picked up sooner, or captured my interest earlier on. It wasn’t a bad book, though not nearly one of my favorites. It’s good, but not impressive, and I don’t think I’ll pick it up again. I give it 3/5 stars.

One thought on “Losing Faith by Denise Jaden

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

