3 stars · fiction · paranormal · series · young adult

Past Midnight by Mara Purnhagen

Past Midnight

Author: Mara Purnhagen

Pages [paperback]: 216

Memorable Quote:

Favorite Character: Charlotte 

Summary:

Let me set the record straight. My name is Charlotte Silver and I’m not one of those paranormal-obsessed freaks you see on TV…no, those would be my parents, who have their own ghost-hunting reality show. And while I’m usually roped into the behind-the-scenes work, it turns out that I haven’t gone unnoticed. Something happened on my parents’ research trip in Charleston—and now I’m being stalked by some truly frightening other beings. Trying to fit into a new school and keeping my parents’ creepy occupation a secret from my friends—and potential boyfriends—is hard enough without having angry spirits whispering in my ear.

All I ever wanted was to be normal, but with ghosts of my past and present colliding, now I just want to make it out of high school alive….

Review:

 This book was a quick, fun read that I enjoyed although it held no lasting impressions. I didn’t know what to make of it at first, though I loved how Charlotte’s parents aren’t your typical ‘Ghost Hunters’. They strive to disprove any spiritual phenomenon possible, and make a career off of that alone. But when things start actually getting ghostly, they need to face something they’ve never prepared to come against.

Charlotte was an okay character, a typical teenager who is embarrassed of her parents and wants nothing more or less than a normal life. She tries to make friends while keeping them in the dark about her parents’ true profession. I personally couldn’t understand why she was so paranoid of people knowing this, as no one I know would be exceptionally bothered by it, or ready to tease someone about it, and the examples she gave seemed . . . lacking. Some of the decisions she made seemed to make no sense; she’d be terrified of the ‘ghosts’ one moment, then ready to openly engage them the next.

The book was a little slow, with some of the big revelations and secrets predictable, or less shocking than they should have been. Some things seemed to fit together perfectly, while others seemed to miss a little . . . pizazz.

All in all, it was a good read, though not impressive. I probably won’t pick it up again, but I recommend it if you’re into paranomal YA titles or looking for an easy read to get through the day. I give Past Midnight 3/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Past Midnight by Mara Purnhagen

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

