5 stars · classic · fiction · young adult

Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie

Peter Pan

Author: J. M. Barrie

Pages: [paperback] 208

Memorable Quote: To die will be an awfully big adventure.

Favorite Character: Peter Pan

Summary:

The classic tale of a boy who refuses to grow up, Peter Pan follows the Darling children as they accompany this boy away from their London home to a world of dreams, Neverland.

Review:

 I’ve been in love with Peter Pan ever since I first saw the Disney movie. It’s taken me until now to read the full novel version of the story, and I wondered if it would meet with the expectations I had set for it. Peter Pan blew those thoughts away, and then some. This story, light and childish while also being harsh and, at times, cruel, was a joy to read. I’ll definitely be rereading this classic throughout my life.

Peter Pan is both mischievous and selfish when he first meets the Darling children, first wanting nothing more than to get what is his and get back to having fun. Then he realizes that they-more specifically, Wendy-have something he wants, and he does whatever he can to get the children to come along with him. The story shows how kids tend to only think of themselves, and that nothing has any consequences. The magical fantasy backdrop makes the reality of the children running away seem less jarring and more adventurous.

This book is certainly more violent than the movie productions let on, but much of it is implied, so don’t think that everything is constant killing. It didn’t detract from the story, but add to it, contrasting the usual view of innocent children with these tendencies that are more adult and foreign.

This book is filled with great quote-worthy lines, and I loved all of them. I’d post them here if I could, but it would take up too much room. Suffice it to say that I was alternately laughing and gasping at the narrative, and I never had to struggle to figure out just what was trying to be said, always a plus with an old classic.

I give Peter Pan 5/5 stars. It was a great, fun read that will stick with me forever. I loved every moment of it, and hope that others who haven’t given it a chance decide to pick it up. It’s more than worth it!

3 thoughts on “Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

